We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, hospitable charm amidst the giant PSU Campus”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quaint, hospitable charm amidst the giant PSU Campus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

This inn is a must stay for someone new to the PSU world. It offers very quaint experiences with some 2011+ upgrades (like Wifi). The inn is located at the end of the campus, next to the world famous Nittany Lion Shrine.

PROS: Location, location, location - on campus, next to the Lion Shrine, beautiful grounds, easy to walk to anything on campus or the bus loops. In fact, the bus is literally right out the back door, and the White and Blue Loops are FREE OF CHARGE. The hotel is closest to the West Residence Halls, some education and engineering buildings, the "mall," and the Library. I think this is the prettiest part of campus. When driving, it's at a very popular intersection and very easy to find.

CONS: Book in advance! Rooms sell out super, super, super fast especially during football season and popular wedding months.

Room Tip: book in advance - as soon as you know your dates, book immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcr195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
We Are...so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

If you happen to visit us again during our snowy season, or at any time of the year, we also offer a complimentary shuttle service for all of our overnight guests throughout the local area. While we agree that the Loop is wonderful, we also don't want you to have to wait if you are pressed for time! Our Guest Services team is always happy to help.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    209
    61
    20
    13
See reviews for
275
117
27
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Our family has been staying at the Inn for decades and love "coming home" each year. Hard to beat location and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandscru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
We are so glad to have our family come home...thank you so much for your loyalty to the Inn over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed for 4 nights because my workshop in Penn State University was just few meters awya. The staff is normal, nice food, clean rooms. The hotel has shuttle which can drive you to any place you want.

Room Tip: Try to get your room as near as possible to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo2men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed in State College for the first time last week. I am not sure about other hotels in the area but the service at the Nittany Lion Inn was fantastic. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed the evening before, checked out in the morning and spen the entire day in meetings. They stored my bag and when I returned they let me park my car and use the lobby for internet access while I waited for dinner companions. In addition to the service, it is a beautiful old hotel that looks like a Mansion from the outside. Saw a group of high schoool studenst leaving the lobby for a college tour. Great location for a colleg tour. Right in the middle of campus. They also offer free shuttles around State College.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seaver41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The staff is always friendly. It is an old hotel that is modern enough to feel good but still has that warm old hotel appeal. Had a great room nice and clean

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
3.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.8 km away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#7 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.1 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 West Park Ave., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price range (per night): $203 - $463
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing