We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Wind Swept Inn(Charlestown)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Break(Narragansett)
Book now, pay at stay
US$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Coast(Westerly)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Rose Inn(Narragansett)
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Atlantic House(Narragansett)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$273
US$249
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winnapaug Inn(Westerly)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
budget inn(North Stonington)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
116
49
15
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
49
15
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdunkin donutspicnic tablesplace to stayrhode islandcharlestown beachwalking distanceoverhead fanour favorite placeoff seasonrefrigerator and microwaveolder dognice backyardgirls weekenddebbiebeachesefficiencygas
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Thank you Loretta for another great stay! You take so much care and pride in how each and every room is cared for. The rooms are lovely with the beachy decor(nice new paint job on the dressers,btw!)
This dog friendly motel is the best of it's kind with my favorite beach right down the road. Great market and bakery within walking distance.
So if you're looking for a clean and comfortable motel in a beautiful area with a beautiful person keeping the place that way(Loretta) this is the place for you.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank gingerg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We stayed at the Surfside for a house buying trip in September. The room was delightful. The decor perfect beachy and clean. Surfside feels like home the minute you get there. The room is a bit tight but we didn't mind and making coffee was logistically challenging but we didn't mind that either.

All in all it's a great place to stay and Loretta will help with whatever you need!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drzhivago47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This is where we stay after we close up our own place for the winter, but still want to visit the beach and family who live here!! Lorretta is the ABSOLUTE BEST!!! She's always looking to help make you feel comfortable and lets you know to "simply ask" for what you may want or need! She's definately the "hidden gem" to this small but comfy motel. She's great to visit with and always makes you feel welcome! The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, comfy, filled with light and decorated with that familiar "beachy" motif. It's also nice to have a small microwave and fridge for those "moments of munchies"! Dunkin Donuts is basically across the street and so is the pizza shop. The only thing different about THIS visit this time, was being woken up by the neighbors rooster early in the morning! (hopefully it doesn't have a very long life!!) Otherwise, we would recommend The Surfside to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachprincessh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfside334, Owner at The Surfside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2010

Hi Beachprincess,
Thank you for the kind words. We are in negotiations to "relocate" the neighbors rooster. Charlestown is proud of its rich agricultural heritage, so anyone can have a rooster in their backyard. I think it is time the town realize that tourism, not agriculture, pays the bills!
Thanks, TBC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We traveled by train from Baltimore to Kingston, RI, today with plans to take the ferry to Block Island in the morning. Because of the limited off-season ferry schedule, we were unable to arrive in time for the last ferry of the day and had to stay overnight nearby. We chose the Surfside Motel based on the outstanding reviews posted on Trip Advisor. But our experience even surpassed the rave reviews we had already read. We arrived about 10 pm (with my husband in dire need of nourishment), but sadly found out that all nearby restaurants had already closed. This we learned from Todd, the owner, who had independently called several restaurants to find that none were open. He brought us this bad news, but at the same time, asked if we happened to like Thai food. He explained that his wife was from Thailand, and even though she herself had just arrived home from New York, she would be only too happy to whip up a meal for us. It was fantastic by any standard, but for hungry desperate travelers, it was phenomenal!

There’s more -- any review of the Surfside Motel would be grossly incomplete without mention of Loretta. We totally agree with all the other outstanding reviews about her. She adds an extra degree of warmth and general helpfulness that is rarely encountered in today’s world.

It is amazing that we have so much to say given that we arrived at 10 pm tonight and will be leaving at 8 am tomorrow. And, to boot, this is our first Trip Advisor review! We obviously would highly recommend the Surfside Motel to any and all visitors. That it is filled to capacity on this off-season weekday night is not in the least surprising, so make your reservations early.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

After all the ferries were canceled to Block Island due to the weather, it was a mad rush to find a place for an entire wedding party to spend the night on a weekend that was full of parents come to visit their students during parent's weekend at URI. The Surfside was the perfect solution! Loretta was extreamly sympathetic and helpful. She went over and above the call of duty to help out our party of stranded travelers who were on a budget, in a rush, and in an increasingly desperate situation with a bride who was at a breaking point. Loretta had the rooms ready at rapid speed and because the rooms were so perfect we got everything done at the Surfside that we had intended to do on the island. We got on the ferry the next day and the wedding went on without a hitch. Thank you Loretta, the wedding could not have been such a success without your help the night before! Loretta and the Surfside are the parfect place to spend the night, desperate or not. The rooms have roomy bathrooms, fridges, and beds the curl up on after a long day of activities and the staff are without a doubt the core of this place and will do anything they can to make your stay more pleasent and enjoyable, just ask.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sderham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews