We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Comfortable”
Review of The Surfside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlestown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Surfside Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The Surfside Motel is a cute, clean, and comfortable place to stay in Rhode Island. Although this may be the closest motel to Charlestown Beach, it is far enough away that you probably won't want to walk...but the motel is centrally located to everything we wanted to see and do. We spent a day checking out the lighthouses in the area (Beavertail and Point Judith, and we drove into Newport for an afternoon. The next day, we went to Mystic, CT. Each ride took no more than 40 minutes, and te Surfside is a good home base.
As all of the other reviews promised, Lorretta was friendly and accommodating. Although we did not need anything from her, she let us know that we could come knocking on her door if we needed anything. Our room was so clean that when we first entered, the kids asked if we had a pool in our room because they smelled the chlorox (it was not overpowering...it smelt wonderfully clean!)
We are planning our return trip to the area...and will definitely stay at The Surfside Motel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

Thank you Loretta for another great stay! You take so much care and pride in how each and every room is cared for. The rooms are lovely with the beachy decor(nice new paint job on the dressers,btw!)
This dog friendly motel is the best of it's kind with my favorite beach right down the road. Great market and bakery within walking distance.
So if you're looking for a clean and comfortable motel in a beautiful area with a beautiful person keeping the place that way(Loretta) this is the place for you.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank gingerg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We stayed at the Surfside for a house buying trip in September. The room was delightful. The decor perfect beachy and clean. Surfside feels like home the minute you get there. The room is a bit tight but we didn't mind and making coffee was logistically challenging but we didn't mind that either.

All in all it's a great place to stay and Loretta will help with whatever you need!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drzhivago47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This is where we stay after we close up our own place for the winter, but still want to visit the beach and family who live here!! Lorretta is the ABSOLUTE BEST!!! She's always looking to help make you feel comfortable and lets you know to "simply ask" for what you may want or need! She's definately the "hidden gem" to this small but comfy motel. She's great to visit with and always makes you feel welcome! The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, comfy, filled with light and decorated with that familiar "beachy" motif. It's also nice to have a small microwave and fridge for those "moments of munchies"! Dunkin Donuts is basically across the street and so is the pizza shop. The only thing different about THIS visit this time, was being woken up by the neighbors rooster early in the morning! (hopefully it doesn't have a very long life!!) Otherwise, we would recommend The Surfside to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachprincessh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfside334, Owner at The Surfside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2010

Hi Beachprincess,
Thank you for the kind words. We are in negotiations to "relocate" the neighbors rooster. Charlestown is proud of its rich agricultural heritage, so anyone can have a rooster in their backyard. I think it is time the town realize that tourism, not agriculture, pays the bills!
Thanks, TBC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We traveled by train from Baltimore to Kingston, RI, today with plans to take the ferry to Block Island in the morning. Because of the limited off-season ferry schedule, we were unable to arrive in time for the last ferry of the day and had to stay overnight nearby. We chose the Surfside Motel based on the outstanding reviews posted on Trip Advisor. But our experience even surpassed the rave reviews we had already read. We arrived about 10 pm (with my husband in dire need of nourishment), but sadly found out that all nearby restaurants had already closed. This we learned from Todd, the owner, who had independently called several restaurants to find that none were open. He brought us this bad news, but at the same time, asked if we happened to like Thai food. He explained that his wife was from Thailand, and even though she herself had just arrived home from New York, she would be only too happy to whip up a meal for us. It was fantastic by any standard, but for hungry desperate travelers, it was phenomenal!

There’s more -- any review of the Surfside Motel would be grossly incomplete without mention of Loretta. We totally agree with all the other outstanding reviews about her. She adds an extra degree of warmth and general helpfulness that is rarely encountered in today’s world.

It is amazing that we have so much to say given that we arrived at 10 pm tonight and will be leaving at 8 am tomorrow. And, to boot, this is our first Trip Advisor review! We obviously would highly recommend the Surfside Motel to any and all visitors. That it is filled to capacity on this off-season weekday night is not in the least surprising, so make your reservations early.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
15 km away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 8 in Narragansett
90 reviews
11.9 km away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
241 reviews
15 km away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
209 reviews
0.2 km away
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel
#3 of 4 in Charlestown
37 reviews
12.5 km away
Scarborough Beach Motel
Scarborough Beach Motel
#6 of 8 in Narragansett
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surfside Motel

Address: 334 Narrow Ln, Charlestown, RI 02813-4164
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: $78 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conklin Family welcomes you to the Surfside Motel. A cozy 15 room motel located near beautiful Charlestown Beach. We have efficiency units for extended stays, or standard rooms with small fridges and microwaves, A/C, cable, wireless internet, flat screen tv's with built-in DVD players, gas grills, and picnic tables outside. Clean, quiet, and comfy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surfside Hotel Charlestown
Surfside Hotel Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing