We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian with a twist!”
Review of Le Farfalle

Le Farfalle
Ranked #126 of 980 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: US$30 - US$100
Description: 'Le Farfalle' means to chase unattainable dreams like a butterfly. That is exactly what the owners of this regional Italian restaurant do on a daily basis. Always striving for perfection and trying to make each and every experience better than the last. The menu at Le Farfalle will change with the seasons as well as stay true to locally sourced ingredients. The pastas will be made in house daily and always prepared to let the ingredients speak for themselves.
Restaurant details
Description: 'Le Farfalle' means to chase unattainable dreams like a butterfly. That is exactly what the owners of this regional Italian restaurant do on a daily basis. Always striving for perfection and trying to make each and every experience better than the last. The menu at Le Farfalle will change with the seasons as well as stay true to locally sourced ingredients. The pastas will be made in house daily and always prepared to let the ingredients speak for themselves.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This was a great surprise! Never intended to go but when our local friend recommended we go we said sure! So glad we did.
Octopus crudo and Caesar salad and baked rosemary focaccia for 4 people as appetizers. OMG!!
Then we shared 3 pasta dishes. Each one better than the next. Great wine. Service outstanding and pretty place. I will definitely be back for more!

Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin T, Owner at Le Farfalle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks so much Wendy! I am always delighted to hear when people folks are pleasantly surprised! I appreciate you taking the time to leave a nice review and we look forward to your next trip into town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The food was great! Our waitress was very kind and attentive. Although, she did forget to bring a drink.

Thank shesontheloose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin T, Owner at Le Farfalle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks so much for the kind review and I am sorry that we forgot to bring a drink!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I’ve dinned here many times and it is always great. The servers are always friendly and very knowledgeable. I consistently have a fantastic time here. The atmosphere is always fun, upbeat and lively. The food is awesome. The agnolotti is my favorite. My husband really wanted to try the ricotta gnudi but didn’t like pesto and the chef made a special accommodation and it was delicious. They have a great happy hour menu and we love to sit at the bar. Make sure and ask for bread so you can soak up all the sauce!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin T, Owner at Le Farfalle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Erin! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this great review. It means so much more coming from our neighbors. We strive to keep everyone happy and I am glad that all the hard work is paying off. Thanks again, and we hope to see you for an awesome happy hour soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Since seeing a cooking demonstration by the chef/owner at SEWE and hearing good reviews from friends, we've been looking forward to experiencing Le Farfalle. A beautiful spring Friday was perfect and we snagged a parking space at the adjacent lot. We sat on a sunny spot on the courtyard entry patio which has to be one of the most attractive in Downtown Charleston. The pine tables are highly polished and coupled with the aluminum chairs and string lights give the place an urban Italian feel.

But we came for the food and it didn't disappoint. Our waiter, Chuck, was attentive without being intrusive and made solid recommendations. We had the chicken saltiboca sandwich and the daily pasta special. The bread was good and crusty and the pasta was house made and fresh. Salads were a nice fresh spring mix with grapefruit wedges and thinly sliced fennel. The dressing was a light vinaigrette. Everything was exceptional and this is the best Italian restaurant that we've experienced in town. Already planning future visits.

Thank ricacorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin T, Owner at Le Farfalle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you so much for this detailed experience. We are so glad that you had such a nice time and enjoyed the ambiance, food and service. It is a lot of hard work that we have put into this place, so when it gets noticed it makes it all worth it. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We went to La Farfalle on our last night of a weeklong trip to Charleston. Having eaten seafood for most of the week we were in the mood for something different. So happy we picked this restaurant. We both think it may have been the best meal we’ve had in a restaurant. We shared the Whipped Ricotta appetizer and it was delicious! Along with the Polpette and Insalata. Our pasta was a spicy fusilli and it was cooked perfectly. We also ordered the delicious Pork Chops on the recommendation of our fantastic waiter (Tyler) and couldn’t finish them, although we tried! The atmosphere was really cool and open. We loved everything about this place and can’t wait to go back!

Thank Jroseok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin T, Owner at Le Farfalle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you so much for stopping in! We appreciate you for taking the time to leave some positivity out there in the world and look forward to seeing you again soon! Also, thank you for shouting out your server, I believe he will be very happy to read this :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Farfalle also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Le Farfalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing