We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$166
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$295
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$169
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Church Street Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,032)
Filter reviews
2,032 results
Traveller rating
1,596
267
114
41
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,596
267
114
41
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeninsula grillcoconut cakerelais chateauxteddy bearplantation kingsouthern charmsweet teaturn down servicefour poster bedperfect locationsitting roommarket streetsmall hotelcharming hotellovely roomhistoric districta wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 2,032 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Our stay was terrific. We were very pleased with the hotel. Location was perfect and the staff was very good. The courtyard could be a little more comfortable. It would be a great place to sit with a cocktail and read a book.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnhO9955TG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear johnhO9955TG,

Thank you. It is an honor to read your five-star review of Planters Inn. You were "very pleased," and we are delighted. Drop me a line with your ideas for the courtyard. I love great suggestions! aproctor@plantersinn.com

When you are ready to book your next Planters Inn getaway, please contact our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345. We look forward to seeing you again!

In the meantime, the entire Planters Inn staff sends you best wishes for good health and safe travels.

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Great location staff at check in not very friendly my request for quiet room upper floor was not met Bathroom only 1 sink for 2 people could have added additional sink easily. Didn't like that toliet area did not have separate door for privacy

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wiggins34112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Wiggins34112,

Thank you. We work hard to provide an excellent experience, and we truly appreciate each & every guest who takes the time to share feedback with us. Your four-star review is a gift. However, you deserve a five-star experience, and I want to ensure that happens. If you would be so kind as to drop me a line regarding your check-in experience, I will use your feedback to enhance and improve our efforts. Our goal is to make you happy! Please contact me at aproctor@plantersinn.com at your convenience.

When you are ready to book your next Planters Inn getaway, please contact our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345. We look forward to seeing you again!

In the meantime, the entire Planters Inn staff sends you best wishes for good health and safe travels.

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Located in the heart of Charleston's historic district, and central to restaurants, bars and sightseeing. Hotel is well maintained and beautiful inside, it has a delightful courtyard to eat in for breakfast, as well as dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out of the courtyard, as the main road bin collections and buses can be disturbing.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulandKimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hi, PaulandKim_10!

Thanks for sharing your "charming" experience at Planters Inn. We appreciate your considerate observations regarding the location, decor, and ambiance as well as your great tip to fellow travelers regarding breakfast and dinner in the courtyard... a true Charleston treat!

When you are ready to book your next Planters Inn getaway, please contact our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345. We look forward to seeing you again!

In the meantime, the entire Planters Inn staff sends you best wishes for good health and safe travels.

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

A great visit to a wonderful city made possible by the friendly staff and excellent accommodations at the Planters Inn. I would recommend this property to anyone considering staying in Charleston who would like a high end, high quality place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Front Office Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Nick K,

It is such a joy to earn both a guest's satisfaction and referral. We are honored to know you recommend Planters Inn to all visitors seeking "a high end, high quality place to stay" in Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful feedback with your fellow travelers and us.

We want you to enjoy a perfect Planters Inn getaway each & every time you visit Charleston. You will receive the best rates and dates when booking direct via our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at Planters Inn. In the meantime, here's wishing you safe, happy travels!

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

The hotel is beautiful and the location is right in the heart of old Charleston. Service was friendly and welcoming. I would stay here again next time I visit Charleston. We did not eat at the Peninsula Grill, but we were able to enjoy the famous coconut cake in our room late night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N7314MAmarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Front Office Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear N7314MAmarym,

Thank you for taking the time to share such kindness with your TripAdvisor review of Planters Inn, "right in the heart of old Charleston," as you so perfectly described. Extending a warm, friendly welcome to each & every guest is such a pleasure! We are passionate about our guest experiences and passionate about our beautiful hometown of Charleston... bringing our two passions together is a dream come true.

We want you to always enjoy a perfect Planters Inn getaway. You will receive the best rates & dates when booking direct via our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at Planters Inn. In the meantime, here's wishing you safe, happy travels!

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews