We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Amazing Hotel"”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2017

From the moment we arrived, we knew that we had made a wonderful choice.
The hotel is luxurious. The room were large & the bed was extremely comfortable. Perfectly located in heart of Charleston. There are many fabulous restaurants near by.
Beautifully decorated. The room was SPOTLESS!!! The employees were very friendly & accommodating. Ready to pack my bags & head back!

Room Tip: Verify when making reservations that you would like a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank poolgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear poolgirl3,

Pack your bags & come back, friend! We are ready to say "hello" to you again. Or, show up with a toothbrush and treat yourself to a C.N.V.W. (Complete New Vacation Wardrobe). Planters Inn is only a short stroll away from the best boutiques in Charleston like RTW, Croghan's Jewel Box, Charleston Shoe Company, Finicky Filly, Christian Michi, Ben Silver, Hampden Clothing, and the list goes on!

When you are ready to book your next Planters Inn getaway, please contact our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345. We look forward to seeing you again!

In the meantime, the entire Planters Inn staff sends you best wishes for good health and safe travels.

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Our stay was terrific. We were very pleased with the hotel. Location was perfect and the staff was very good. The courtyard could be a little more comfortable. It would be a great place to sit with a cocktail and read a book.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnhO9955TG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear johnhO9955TG,

Thank you. It is an honor to read your five-star review of Planters Inn. You were "very pleased," and we are delighted. Drop me a line with your ideas for the courtyard. I love great suggestions! aproctor@plantersinn.com

When you are ready to book your next Planters Inn getaway, please contact our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345. We look forward to seeing you again!

In the meantime, the entire Planters Inn staff sends you best wishes for good health and safe travels.

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Great location staff at check in not very friendly my request for quiet room upper floor was not met Bathroom only 1 sink for 2 people could have added additional sink easily. Didn't like that toliet area did not have separate door for privacy

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wiggins34112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Wiggins34112,

Thank you. We work hard to provide an excellent experience, and we truly appreciate each & every guest who takes the time to share feedback with us. Your four-star review is a gift. However, you deserve a five-star experience, and I want to ensure that happens. If you would be so kind as to drop me a line regarding your check-in experience, I will use your feedback to enhance and improve our efforts. Our goal is to make you happy! Please contact me at aproctor@plantersinn.com at your convenience.

When you are ready to book your next Planters Inn getaway, please contact our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345. We look forward to seeing you again!

In the meantime, the entire Planters Inn staff sends you best wishes for good health and safe travels.

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Located in the heart of Charleston's historic district, and central to restaurants, bars and sightseeing. Hotel is well maintained and beautiful inside, it has a delightful courtyard to eat in for breakfast, as well as dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out of the courtyard, as the main road bin collections and buses can be distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulandKim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hi, PaulandKim_10!

Thanks for sharing your "charming" experience at Planters Inn. We appreciate your considerate observations regarding the location, decor, and ambiance as well as your great tip to fellow travelers regarding breakfast and dinner in the courtyard... a true Charleston treat!

When you are ready to book your next Planters Inn getaway, please contact our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345. We look forward to seeing you again!

In the meantime, the entire Planters Inn staff sends you best wishes for good health and safe travels.

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

A great visit to a wonderful city made possible by the friendly staff and excellent accommodations at the Planters Inn. I would recommend this property to anyone considering staying in Charleston who would like a high end, high quality place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Front Office Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Nick K,

It is such a joy to earn both a guest's satisfaction and referral. We are honored to know you recommend Planters Inn to all visitors seeking "a high end, high quality place to stay" in Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful feedback with your fellow travelers and us.

We want you to enjoy a perfect Planters Inn getaway each & every time you visit Charleston. You will receive the best rates and dates when booking direct via our in-house reservations team: (843) 722-2345.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at Planters Inn. In the meantime, here's wishing you safe, happy travels!

Sincerely,
Amy Proctor
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,463 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $334 - $769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston’s famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city’s iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There’s also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city’s foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world’s most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing