We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service & atmosphere”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 831 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 18 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We ended up at Hanks because so many other recommended places were booked, but didn’t regret it. The place is nicely decorated and the service impeccable. My wife’s flounder was excellent, my swordfish sadly a bit tough.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Crosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (4,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 4,395 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2021 via mobile

Just as excellent as it was a decade ago.

Highly recommend crab cakes. Best seafood we’ve ever ate! Roasted grouper was really good. Even my daughter liked the fried kids shrimp (huge portion). She crab soup was also great as always.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2021

What a wonderful restaurant! The food , service, and atmosphere was perfection! (Our server, Matt, was I believe the best server we have EVER had! So attentive, great suggestions, so helpful in decisions on the highlights of foods we asked about! Do yourself a favor and order the collard greens and Dijon potato salad as your sides! Oh, my goodness!! Outstanding meals!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Scifygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021

One of our favorite restaurants in Charleston which we try to stopping whenever n town because you cannot predict what they will have or how it will presented. It will be locally inspired. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar before dinner. The Duck leg with a curry style was light and tasteful. The other guests enjoyed oysters and chicken with a variety of vegetables and favors .

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HaleF643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

I will be back! Started off with the lump crab, and she crab soup. Bouillabaisse was to die for! Has the mule to drink too. Highly suggest them allen

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank SquitneyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.