We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of the weekend”

Slightly North of Broad
Ranked #22 of 830 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, nice ambiance. We really enjoyed our meals. Staff was super friendly. Offered a different type of meal than all the standards in Charleston.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Lbhoneybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (4,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 4,191 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2021

We had the scallops and the tuna. Both were good - not great but very good. The service was so friendly and attentive and the music on that Wednesday night was superb. We will be back!

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

Overall hit and miss tonight. I brought guests and so disappointed. Servers kept trying to hurry us and we had just gotten our drinks.

The food was so off tonight. Shrimp and grits were not good. Clumpy hard grits. Shrimp tasted like bleach or something. Overall awful. But even worse was tonights special pork bun. What a mess. A nightmare of a dish. Seems like someone was trying to be creative and what a miss. Tasted like vinegar. Just awful. After mentioning to server she should have seen it was barely eaten and taken off bill.
Flounder was good but not enough sauce.

Won’t be back for a long time I’m sad to say.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank C3665QBmaryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

While walking around Charleston after visiting the Market and sitting watching dolphins swim we were looking for a quick, easy lunch. We stopped at SNOB because Find Me Gluten Free advised us that it was a place that was really close to where we were. WE ARE GLAD WE DID. While they do not have a separate gluten free menu their staff is very well versed in what is and isn't gluten free. On top of that our server, Amy, double checked everything.
We had shrimp and grits, collards (with the Jam!), and the tomato and okra stew. Everything was outstanding. The flavors were on point and the portions were the right size for what we were looking for. But, better than the food, and again the food was great, was the service. Amy is an absolute gem. She was attentive, conversational without being intrusive, knew the menu, and made suggestions based off of our asks. We spent less than $100, including a nice bottle of wine. Do not hesitate to come here when you are in this fair city. We will definitely place this on our list and be back whenever we are in Charleston, which is fairly frequent.
Now, off to Hall's Chophouse (same ownership, btw.) for dinner! Adios y'all!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank quill0n0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021

The flounder special was excellent. The other seafood dishes were quite good. This is a popular spot. The squash soup was delicious. Service was good. No social distancing here)

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HaleF643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.