We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden gen

Took the family and this place is a sweet hidden gem. Great parking and not over crowded. The low... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
mag351986
,
Hilton Head, South Carolina
via mobile
Small but excellent History Lesson

We love Mitchelville. The small park interprets the first self-governing coumminty of freedmen in... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Drew K
,
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Read all 182 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hilton Head
from US$30.00
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$125.00
More Info
from US$40.00
More Info
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
111
55
12
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
55
12
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide civil war freed slaves black history hermit crabs general mitchell important history emancipation proclamation beach path interesting historical site sea islands port royal sound shell collecting union army clams tidal pools salt marsh
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

It’s hard to find the trail to the beach from the park. The trail is long, so be prepared if you have little ones or older kids who complain. Once we got there, the shells were almost entirely oyster shells. The beach smelled fishy and had large areas of mud. While searching for shells I sank into the mud and fell. The mud was black, sticky, and not typical sand. I had to cover my car seat with a towel and change ASAP. It was unpleasant at the beach - so much so that the trail was the highlight of our adventure. We did see two beautiful water birds. I don’t recommend this trip for what few shells you will get.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank nebalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This was my first time visiting the park and my experience was awesome and exciting. The activities at the festival were outstanding and very enjoyable. An archaeology team was excavating and shared the history of their finds. This park will be visited by me more often and the Juneteenth Festival will become an annual event.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank jafields49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We read that this was one of the only places on the island where there is good shelling. It didn't disappoint. There were lots of cool things on the beach. No sand dollars.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank lrb1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

The day we visited, an archaeology team was excavating and happily told us about the site and what they were looking for (the old Praise Building from Gullah freeman times). Some interesting partial buildings and a plaque quoting Toni Morrison that "no 300 foot tower or even a park bench" commemorates the freeman culture. Ironically, they erected a bench and not a tower.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Best time to go is early in the day. The later you go the farther out the tide is and you have to walk a LONG way to get to the waterline. There is no lifeguards out here but it's very private and secluded. Mostly locals here. We went 3 times during our stay.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Jbratcher2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews