We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dont ever judge a book by its cover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acme Lowcountry Kitchen

Acme Lowcountry Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Acme Lowcountry Kitchen specializes in local seafood, if we cannot source it locally it is sourced off the East Coast of the USA! We do not serve seafood from any other area. We of course never serve any imported seafood. We truly believe in supporting American Fishermen and Shrimpers!
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
169 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Dont ever judge a book by its cover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

From the outside this restaurant is not much to look at. But the food was the best we had on our trip. Definitely the best cheese grits I've ever eaten. Don't forget to get the key lime pie- one of the best

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zaz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to right such a nice review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and like the grits so much. The Key Lime pie is some of the best I had had too. Actually a regular customer of ours suggested to us last year that we should try it, sure enough he was right, and we switched to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,373
    358
    105
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fried Green Tomatoes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

If on the Isle of Palms, SC try the fried green tomatoes with pimento cheese at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen. My wife and I shared this along with the boiled shrimp and dessert of key lime pie and loved it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to right such a nice review! I am very glad to hear you and our wife enjoyed you meal with us! Thanks for stopping by and we hope to see y'all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here several times and the food has never disappointed. My last trip here the service could have been better but I think it was because they were running on island time that day. However, the food was worth the wait

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MHenders0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to right such a nice review! Thanks for frequenting our restaurant. I am very happy to hear you enjoy the food and for the most part the service. Thanks so MUCH!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love their grits!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

They have the best grits in the south. We stayed on IOP had dinner here one evening and breakfast the morning of our departure...fantastic food, not your typical boring menu...very good service, delicious food, not to mention clean bathroom. Definitely going back next year!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisybsktlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to right such a nice review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed everything! The grits are good, but I can't say too much cause I don't my Grandmother reading that ours are better than hers...did I say that?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic island restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed this restaurant. We had made reservations and they got a group of 6 in on the same day. They had us in the dinning room which is a little more formal than the bar/outside area, but still generally casual.

We had the calamari and shrimp bisque to start and both were good. Main courses was where the real magic happened. Between us we had various dishes but the Shrimp and Grits were awesome, and the crab cakes were just outstanding. In fact from now on I have a new standard for crab cakes. Which is a shame as i really like crab cakes and this is a very one way to drive. My father in law said the fried oysters were the best he'd ever had. I'm not saying he's a connoisseur but still he's eaten a few over the years.

They have a very solid kids menu with lots of options which my kids worked through happily. It's nice to see that many options as not all the places on the islands are as family friendly.

The dining room lacked a tiny bit of atmosphere, but that was probably just because there were no rowdy groups in! (That is no bad thing!). The building as a whole is great and is filled with character.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GooderIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to right such a nice review! We are so happy to hear yall had such a good time at Acme! The crab cakes are something I personally took action on. I was so tired of going to restaurant after restaurant and being served a bread cake with bits of crab. I took our crab cake and told the Chef that I wanted literally a cake made with mainly fresh lump crab meat. So we found a great company picking their own crabs in North Carolina and decided to not go the route of getting crab meat from Mexico or Thailand! Glad to hear you enjoyed them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acme Lowcountry Kitchen also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Acme Lowcountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing