We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gardens, sculpture, nature and history.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Gardens, sculpture, nature and history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Well worth the visit to this beautiful former rice plantation.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vic051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,313
    293
    63
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by how lovely the gardens were. The flowers were just starting to bloom and we can only imagine how beautiful it would be with the gardens in full bloom. Our favourite was the big "fluffy" trees. We only see those in movies about the south so it was awesome to see them up close. The zoo was also a lot of fun. I felt sad for the enclosed birds until I realized they were being kept safe and cared for because they were injured. The otters were hilarious to watch. What show offs! It was a fairly cool day and we were quite chilled after 3 hours so we left, but you could easily spend longer just walking around the beautiful grounds.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Brookgreen gardens is gorgeous! I was there in February, so there were not many flowers open yet, but the statuary is amazing. They have such a variety, and all are very well taken care of. The walks are easy to follow along and extensive. There is alot to see at the gardens! I highly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

A very enjoyable day; everywhere you turn there is something new and amazing to see. Beautiful works by very gifted sculptors. Make sure you where your comfy shoes

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank crittersitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful, dont miss the river boat tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Wonderful gardens, great boat tour and I liked the animals. It was nice to see that they gace homes to needy animals and the rescued birds being cared for in the zoo instead of ones that could be free.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank urcinnamongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing