We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAMILY FUN”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Lakes Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This was our second trip here our first was in october it was so laid back not to busy traffic wasn't bad everyone was nice and everything was clean. This year we went the end of june. And it was crazy it was very crowded everywhere you went pool was full a line to get in every morning! Traffic was nuts here and in town! Gold cart parades were the best my 3 younger children loved it! Even tho it was extremely packed we had a great time! Great camping for the whole family! Water slides, beach and so much more!

Room Tip: Site With Shade Trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Briana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

We stayed in the 2000 section in a 40' 5th wheel. Spots are a little tight and the turn at the end of the lane when leaving your spot with your rig can be really tight depending on the parking of whomever is on the end and the golf cars that are at the beach. Speaking of golf cars, my only real complaint is the children driving the golf cars. Regulations say licensed drivers only but some appeared to be extremely young and don't appeared to be familiar with the rules of the road. Spoke to an employee and was advised that security is aware but has been indifferent. Kids driving one with an adult supervising is one thing but this is different. Pool area nice plenty to do or not do depending on what you want. Camp store well stocked with grocery items and prices weren't out of control. Food from snack bar was always good and staff friendly.

It is crowded, but it's a beach family resort in the summer time.

We will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at a different campground in the area and it was nice , but oceanlakes is by the far the nicest campground we have ever stayed at! We can't wait to go back! See you in 2018! If we can wait that long!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank katie&sadie'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Had a wonderful trip at Ocean Lakes. We rented a house with an ocean view. We also rented a golf cart. It was a great clean family vacation. The stores in the campground were very reasonably priced. I loved the pool, lazy river and water activities. The 4.00 tropical ices were so good on a hot day. Once inside there is really no reason to leave the site.

Room Tip: Rent from Ocean Lakes Properties and check-in and out is much faster. If you rent from owners be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Here for vacation with 2 kids 10 and 12. First impression was it seemed extremely overcrowded, I experienced more traffic in rv park than I did on way from New Jersey. The pool was very crowded almost touching those next to us, all chairs occupied. The golf cart traffic puts pedestrians at risk as most are operated by children playing music and using cell phones. I began planning my departure the day after arriving. I am impressed with the business model being utilized, this place is a cash cow utilizing several outlets for income. I'm just surprised I was lured into this caos.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank mikeivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeammateMPR, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Lakes Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

We are so sorry your family did not enjoy Ocean Lakes. Like many top summer family vacation destinations July is very busy. We are full of families, lots of activity and “high energy,” not making us dangerous, but we understand it can be overwhelming to some guests. When the kids go back to school our park has an entirely different feel, more mellow and relaxed, even if we are still busy. We hope that each guest finds the “season” that “fits” their family best. Safety is a priority to our team, our 24/7 Security team works hard to remind guests to mindful of others and our policies. Thank you for being impressed by our operations, many guests may not realize that we are family owned and started with 30 sites and 1 bathhouse in 1971. We wish you the best where ever you travel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
9.8 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,287 reviews
12.6 km away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
23.3 km away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
4,188 reviews
8.2 km away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
0.7 km away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#68 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lakes Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lakes Family Campground

Address: 6001 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $37 - $3,438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 893
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national award-winning park is known for its amenities, year round activities, and outstanding customer service. Opened in 1971, it is family owned. Ocean Lakes is the 5-time winner of National "RV Park of the Year" by ARVC (2012/2011, 2008/09, 2003-03, 1999 & 1997); received an "A" Grade (2011, 2010, 2009 & 2008) by its guests through GuestRated; and is the 2006 South Carolina Governor’s Cup winner. Located on 310 oceanfront acres, Ocean Lakes Family Campground features 893 campsites (600 with concrete pads) and 300 rental houses (beach houses, park models, etc.) reserved through Ocean Lakes Properties. All campsites are pull-through and generally accommodate 40' campers or larger with slideouts on both sides. Tents are welcome. Campsite rates include: 20-30-50 amp electric, water, sewer, 70-channel cable TV hookup, phone jack with free local calls, wi-fi, picnic table, the number in your family and pet(s), see policies on web. Campsite reservations are made up to 18 months in advance according to site availability and sites are reserved by specific site number. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Lakes Family Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Lake Family Campground
Ocean Lakes Campground Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing