We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, crappy area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Ranked #34 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, crappy area”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I would like to first say that it is NOT the hotel that I disliked. The staff was very friendly, the hotel was extremely clean and spacious. It had a kitchen and spacious living area. It was a great hotel. Unfortunately, I am used to staying in North Myrtle Beach and this was NOT like that at all. The last time I stayed in Myrtle Beach, I was apparently a lot younger and didn't realize how incredibly trashy that area is. It was loud and seemed to be filled with a lot of...well, not very family oriented people. I would say that if you want to go to the beach to get drunk and loud, this is definitely the area for you, otherwise stick to North Myrtle. I went with two kids and would never do it again. -- Again, I wish the hotel itself were in North Myrtle because it was really nice and it would probably be my favorite hotel. Too bad :(

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, General Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Anna N,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to post a review on your recent visit with us here at Bay View resort and I would like to thank you for all of the kind words you had for our resort and our staff and I am pleased to see that they were able to make your visit with us as comfortable as possible. I would like to apologize though, for the experience you had with the surrounding area. I do know that the upcoming months will be spring break for a lot of colleges in the surrounding areas and of course will get busier as we get into the spring and eventually the summer months. Of course we do have security on staff 24/7 and we have a zero tolerance policy for un-accompanied minors, unfortunately though we cannot control the crowds that come down to the surrounding area, but we do our very best to make sure all of our guests and their families are able to enjoy our facilities without any worries. I do hope that we will be able to win your business back and if there is any way we can sway your decision on returning, please contact me at the resort and my staff and I will certainly do our best to show you and your family a truly relaxing and worry-free vacation. Thank you again for your review and your feedback and I do hope to have you and your family with us again in the future.

Most respectfully,

Tom Emmert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    635
    290
    166
    145
See reviews for
1,065
569
55
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The hotel property is awesome and the staff was incredibly friendly and informative. I will definitely stay here when I am visiting Myrtle Beach. The property has numerous indoor pools and it is right on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomrUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, General Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear TomrUsa,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and I am delighted to see that our staff was able to assist you with any questions you may have had during your visit with us. Thank you again for your kind words and my staff and I are looking forward to serving you and your family as our guests again in the future.

Most respectfully,

Tom Emmert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

You wont be disappointed in this property. The location is the best, close to all the fun things the beach has to offer. The accomodations are amazing, we have been staying here since they opened and have always had a wonderful time. The staff are very friendly,helpful,proffesional people. They are always willing to help you in any way possible during your stay. Our kids love the pool area and starbucks is wonderful for the teenagers in your family, great , safe location for them to "ditch" the parents for awhile and enjoy wifi and a great cup of joe. We were there 6 times last year and have already stayed 2 times this year. As soon as we returned home we booked again in April for my husbands birthday weekend. Cant seem to stay away! If you try it you will not be disappointed I promise.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caseydnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, General Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Caseydnva,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review on Bay View resort and I would like to personally thank you for your continued patronage of our hotel, its customers like you that keep us going and I cannot thank you enough. I am very happy to see that you and your family continue to enjoy our resort and I am looking forward to having you all with us again for your husband's upcoming birthday. Thank you again for allowing us to serve you and yours and from our family to yours, we would like to wish you a safe and happy spring season and we cannot wait to you all with us again soon!

Warmest regards,

Tom Emmert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the this hotel for our annual girls' trip to Myrtle Beach. Check-in was fast and friendly. The gentlemen who man the baggage/check-in area were exceptionally friendly and helpful (in particular, Tracy) and were quick to help with a luggage trolley, hold the elevator, etc. Having Starbucks right inside the hotel was very nice. The secure parking garage is directly across from the hotel and is accessed using your room key. Unlike a lot of hotels that assure you of a place in the parking garage and then you have to park blocks over in some overflow lot, this is a large garage with plenty of parking spaces suitable for SUV's. I read the reviews about having to pass between 'shady' hotels to get to the parking garage from the hotel, but it is VERY well lit and even arriving back at the hotel late at night and as a woman walking alone, I didn't feel unsafe at all. On Sunday when we left it was raining, and a gentleman from the hotel driving an extended-seating golf cart drove me over to the parking garage so I stayed dry (very appreciated!). While we didn't use the indoor pool area, it appeared very clean and well kept. With 3 elevators off of the main entrance, we didn't wait more than a minute or so for an elevator. The room (2 BR oceanfront King E) was HUGE. It had a nice sized kitchen (full size fridge, dishwasher, stove), dining area that sat 6 at a nice table and a large living room with a flat screen TV. Each bedroom had a nice TV in it and both rooms were clean. The oceanfront balconies (one off of the living room and a separate balcony off of the bedroom) were clean and spacious and gave a great view of the ocean. The gym area, with several pieces of cardio equipment, was clean and neat. Bathrooms were clean with many towels, etc. and the vanities were roomy. Both nights we stayed were quiet - there was no yelling or stomping through the hallways that you sometimes get even at the luxury hotels in MB, we couldn't hear anyone beside us or above us (even when UNC delivered the beat-down to Duke!), it was very peaceful. The hotel is right off of the well-landscaped boardwalk area and if it hadn't rained the entire time we were there, it would have made for a nice stroll. Conveniently located about half- way between the 2 Tanger Outlets and minutes from Broadway at the Beach. We very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely check out Bay View the next time we head to MB.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASeeOrdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, General Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear ASeeOrdle,

I cannot thank you enough for all of the kind words you had for Bay View resort and I am very happy to see that you and your party had enjoyed your girl's getaway vacation with us here in Myrtle Beach. I will be sure to let the bell staff know, particularly Tracy, that their help was greatly appreciated and you all felt right at home during your time spent with us. I am also very happy to hear that you did not have any issues with the parking garage and that you had felt safe with the walk to and from the facility. OF course we do have security on staff 24/7 and they are more than willing to escort guests to and from the garage if they wish and the front desk is more than happy to set this up for our customers. Indeed our 2 bedroom condos offer all the amenities of home and are have plenty of space for a family or mid-size group and I will be more than happy to let housekeeping know that their hard work in preparing the room for you and your group had not gone unnoticed. Thank you so much for all the great things you had to say for our resort and our staff and we are all looking forward to serving you and your party as our guests again in the future. Go UNC!

Warmest regards,

Tom Emmert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Took my wife to Myrtle Beach as a surprise for her 40th birthday. I had never been there before. We stayed at Bay View Resort and had a great experience! The room was perfect. The view of the ocean was spectacular! I was impressed with the speed of the staff on check in and check out. Great location and right in the middle of everything. You want to walk on the beautiful boardwalk... Bam there it is right out back. You want Starbucks coffee.. It's there. You want a great breakfast... MOMMAS place is right across the street. We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and when we visit again this is where we will be staying!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazetteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, General Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear lazetteg,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on our resort and I would also like to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination for such a special occasion. I am very happy to see that you both had enjoyed your time spent with us and that our staff was able to make her birthday getaway one to remember. I am also delighted to see that you and your wife were able to take advantage of our fantastic location in the Myrtle Beach area as well as the dining right around the hotel and of course who doesn't like a great cup of coffee to start their day off! Thank you again for your wonderful review on Bay View resort and my staff and I are looking forward to having you and your family as our guests again very soon!

Best wishes,

Tom Emmert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.1 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
2.3 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
2.7 km away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#18 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
8.4 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
3.0 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Property: Bay View on the Boardwalk
Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): $122 - $486
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing