We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!”
Review of Ocean Forest Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Forest Plaza
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Our room was great, the hotel employees were very nice. They wouldn't give us a blanket for the pull out sofa, even though there were six of us. The restaurant's breakfast wasn't very good and definitely should have been free. Other than that, everything was perfect! Great location, great views, we enjoyed the pools and hot tub. The water park (which is at a different location in the resort chain) was fun for the kids. There were 4 adults so were able to split the cost which made it absolutely affordable! We had a great time! The parking garage is a little narrow, but my blonde, 25 year old, suv driving friend (who is a girl) navigated it with no problem!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pryncsse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and through the first week of June, 2011. We didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews, but it turned out to be a nice place. We were on the 21st floor in a newly remodeled condo with an amazing view of the ocean. I found our condo on VRBO.com. I think if you do your homework and find a good owner, you'll have a good experience. The front desk staff and all of the employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pools and spent a lot of time in them. The beach is right across the street and we rarely encountered any traffic on the street. The section of beach in front of the condos was never crowded and sometimes we were nearly alone out there. Laundry was one floor down and we were able to do a load each day. It was a short drive to every attraction we wanted to visit. This is not some high end, high price resort. We showed up with realistic expectations and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom24Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Got a room here at Ocean Forest Plaza on a last minute deal since our A/C was out it was a good excuse to go to the beach. We usually stay at Dunes Village but we wanted to try this place because the price was extremely reasonable and being military we went through the military travel service and they recommended this place. We pretty much had no expectations and expected an average room for the three of us and we were pleasantly surprised by how nice this hotel was. Check in was smooth and the front desk was really helpful on check out. They held onto our Hermit Crab cage while we shopped which was really nice. This hotel was one of the Sands Resorts hotels and we received a free trip to a water park, Water and Wheels, which is about 20 miles South of Myrtle and well worth the trip. That was incredible because this water park had a lot of slides and it was not crowded. The room was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. The pillows were pretty beat up but they were fine. The kitchen area had all the necessary plates and utensils along with a dishwasher. They supplied the dishwasher powder as well. The fridge also had an ice maker which came in handy. The elevators (three) were normal speed and not that busy, which is a surprise. They had an abundant amount of carts for moving your luggage. The parking is tight. I have a full size truck and I needed to park in the oversized parking area which is on the side of the hotel. Usually you have to park a ways away but all the parking is really close which makes it really convenient. At Landmark and Dunes Village you have to walk across the street every time you want to go to your car so this was really nice. The pool was not busy at all and the beach is across the street and only 100 feet away. We did not eat at any of the restaurants or used their water park but everyone there liked the resort. We would recommend this place and will use this place again ourselves. We usually go to Myrtle Beach twice a year and this was one of the best places we have stayed for the price and experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigwill524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I traveled here with my wife and 4 y/o. We stayed in room 2011. It was GREAT! For the price of a hotel, we had a seperate bedroom and full, yet small, kitchen. I believe that all these units are individually owned, so each one is different and maintained at a different level. This unit was very cleaned and well cared for.

Being on the 20th floor is about as high as you can get in Myrtle Beach. According to one website, this is the tallest building in MB and sitting on the balcony on the 20th floor was GREAT!!

The building itself lacks some pizazz as there is no store, breakfast service or other "hotel" fetures, but with the kichen we just went to food lion and purchesed breakfast stuff. Saved us some money for sure by having a couple meals in the unit.

Having the two pools seamed dumb at the time of rental, but my child was too small to swim in the waves so we did end up spending time in the pools, very nice.

Beware of the parking ramp, it is not made for large cars, we rented a standard size, chev malibu, and it did fine but it was tight. They do have seperate SUV parking. Just go slow and stop before you hit the wall!!! It was aparent that others had not done this.

This condo is north of the main area, about 1 mile, so the beach was quiet and uncrowded, and we didnt care for the high pressure sales of downtown anyway. Great place to stay. If you are unhappy with your room here, I would ask to see another as they will probably be different, If you go and find one you like, remember the number so you can go back.

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms, the view is awsome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I just returned from The Ocean Forest Plaza and was very impressed by the location, when they say that you are on the "Golden Mile” of Myrtle Beach you absolutely are.
This section of Myrtle Beach is very quiet compared to the Boardwalk Area, almost private beaches and many amenities.
We stayed in a side view room on the 19th floor and had a spectacular view up the coast; I swear you could see North Carolina from the room.
We would definitely stay there again and it just might become my go to place in Myrtle.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1905, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vin1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.2 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
3.9 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,946 reviews
2.2 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#119 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
109 reviews
2.7 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,461 reviews
7.8 km away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Forest Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Forest Plaza

Address: 5523 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2394
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $81 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Forest Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Forest Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Forest Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing