We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ITS BAD AND NASTY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
Ranked #190 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Burning a couple of hundred bucks on a run down nasty beachside hotel. It's shabby and told it was more $ for the kitchen. Got into the room to find a kitchen with nothing in it but one mug! Thought the place had been stripped! It's an experience on a par with a hotel in the Sinai desert! Bathroom had rotting door frame and door would not shut. Bottom floor view shabby over a dirty balcony and paint peeling fence to pool. Redeeming features are the million $ location on the beach, the Bed was ok and air conditioner wasn't noisey. The photos deceive on the hotel sites and the Ferris wheel tells it all. We checked out and wished we had read Trip Advisor early.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beebrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Where do I begin? I walk in to check in the front office smells like 1980, the front desk associate never even made eye contact. The walk to the room was scary, horrible! Walk into the room, ok great view. Look around, WTF!! dented refrigerator looked like it had been brought in from the street. Hot water faucet had a horrible leak making it impossible to get a hot-ish shower. Most electrical outlets didn't work, holes in the wall. Decided to make it work since availability elsewhere was limited. Next morning I go down to the office to report the "leaking" hot water faucet, waited in the office for 5 minutes and no one ever showed up, on my way back to my car I spotted a staff member entering a room to "clean" (boy am I using that term loosely) with a cigarette hanging out of her mouth. Worst Mistake EVER!!! Dont be bamboozled by the pics of the property like I was!!!

The only saving grace was the view, wonderful beach view.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed with this piece of dump i will never ever recommend anyone to stay here it was like i was in a horror flim it should get shut down its beyond outdated everything seemed damped the shower curtain was dirty holes in walls carpets had a odor Never EVER will i stay at this Motel because its bad

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Key806A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I booked an oceanfront room for a night in early August 2017. The outside needs renovations as the stairway's carpet is dirty, old and outdated. The room given to me was surprisingly renovated. Hardwood floors, new paint, smelled and looked clean. The housekeeper did not get all the sand from the previous stayer as we had sand in the floor. The room itself wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible either. When leaving, someone was smoking weed on the second floor, could smell it pretty bad.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDH1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Avoid like the plague. Run down, squalid rooms, and unhelpful folks at the front desk. Trust me, you don't want to bother, when the prices aren't even cheaper than super nice stuff that's all around. Do yourself a favor and keep moving.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,034 reviews
4.3 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#139 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
712 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#143 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Northwood
1.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Wind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Address: 1903 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4635 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Wind Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh and relax in our pool and hot tub with the tropical warm breeze of the Summer Wind on the oceanfront in world famous Myrtle Beach, South Carolina! Our South Ocean Boulevard location provides a laid-back family atmosphere and quick access to all the popular Myrtle Beach attractions. In fact, the Summer Wind is within walking distance of restaurants, fishing pier, miniature golf, Par 3 golf, 18 hole Championship golf, water parks, miniature stockcar race track, shopping malls, and many other attractions. Public transportation comes by the Summer Wind every 20 minutes during the summer months, making access to the entire city, including Broadway at the Beach, a quick and pleasurable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Summer Wind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Summer Wind Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel a Summer Wind

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing