We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome restaurant”
Review of Foolish Frog

Foolish Frog
Price range: US$18 - US$36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Beautiful rustic restaurant nestled on the Lowcountry barrier island, with stunning marsh views, serving local shrimp from the shrimp boats just up the road, beautiful fresh seafood and local produce from Demsey Farm. We pride ourselves in fresh prepared spectacular dishes by our creative chefs. Hardwood smoked barbecue ribs and in-house made wonderful desserts
Reviewed 12 July 2021

2nd time I’ve eaten here in the last month. Both times the food was awesome, fresh, and service was great! Both times we had Regina as our server. Professional, quick and friendly! Will be back!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank kathyr332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2021 via mobile

If you are In Beaufort it is worth the drive. We stayed the night in Beaufort but decided to cross the bridge the next day to hit Hunting Island and check out all the Islands. I love boils and the true name being Frogmore stew what better place to get one than Frogmore itself. We stopped here after visiting Hunting Island State park and it was JAMMED with locals for lunch (always a good sign) we couldn’t find any parking so we drove around and explored more. We came back and found parking we sat outside with a beautiful view of the water. We got the crawfish and shrimp yum yum ya ya and it was incredible the fried grits in the middle was perfect. For our meals we both ordered shrimp boils and they were perfect shrimp, potatoes, corn and sausage all cooked perfectly. We had strawberry cheesecake for dessert which was also great. Our waitress who I cannot remember her name was from North Carolina and she was awesome friendly and super helpful! It is worth a stop or it’s own trip and we will definitely be going back our next time we go to South Carolina

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank danlovetravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

From the start, our visit was wonderful. Danielle was very informative & pleasant. We ordered the blackened snapper special, seafood & grits special, Cajun pasta, & fried whole flounder ALL of which were fabulous. Do not pass this place up.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank slkp1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Stopped by for lunch on Memorial Day. Wanted an authentic Gullah dining experience. The Gullah Grub house across the street was closed so this had to do. The Seafood Boil was great. Good seasoned food. Had the frog legs, calamari, shrimp/crawfish/sausage yum yum ya for appetizers. Good food.

As with most restaurants recently, the wait staff was maxed out. There was a bit of a wait for food. But that seems to be standard in this industry.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank markrY5419IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

The salt marsh in the photo is an eco wonder! (Just the ask the alligators that collect in the area just below this table!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank VAtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Foolish Frog also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Foolish Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.