We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel(Surfside Beach)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Surfside Beach)
US$110
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Presidential Villas(Surfside Beach)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deercreek(Surfside Beach)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Club Villas(Surfside Beach)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
177
181
108
48
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
181
108
48
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poollazy riverpartial kitchenactivity centermyrtle beachbedroom loftthrough rcipoolside grillfull kitchenjetted tubweight roomhuntington state parkwasher and dryergolf clinicshower doortimeshare presentationbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Our first night was miserable - we heard every door open/close in the building and could hear our neighbors’ conversations and every noise. The hotel accommodated our complaints and switched us to a new room, which made a huge difference! The rooms are pretty basic but are clean and are in a safe environment. The mattress and pillows were heavenly! The hot tub and pool facilities were ok - nothing great but definitely got the job done. The vacation ownership sales presentation was worth the free gifts but WAY too long and overpriced. NO free breakfast which is a major complaint - luckily they have delicious restaurants close by for cheaper than their $9 low quality buffet breakfast - which should be complimentary given how much you spend to stay/own/exchange to stay there.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We believe that the resort was recently sold to Wyndham. We arrived completely exhausted and in need of rest and peace. We were warmly greeted by Plantation Resort staff and completed our check in, but were directed to another agent for our room assignment. We were told that if we attended a Wyndham 90 presentation, we would qualify for free gifts, and by the time the presentation was over, our room would be ready. We foolishly chose to attend the presentation. WHAT A MISTAKE! Although we were promised a low key sales pitch, the salesperson who greeted us was non-stop high energy chatter. We endured over an hour of this performance before I finally announced that I had had enough and walked out leaving my spouse to deal with him. PLANTATION RESORT WAS BEAUTIFUL AND A WONDERFUL RESPITE FROM OUR EVERYDAY LIFE! Our experience with the Wyndham staff nearly ruined our experience, but we refused to allow it to.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
1  Thank JillBMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

DO NOT BUY THE SAMPLER VACATION PROGRAM!!!
3 years ago we had such a great family vacation here at Plantation Resorts with our 5 years old that even though the villa we stayed in was VERY OUTDATED we fell for the sales pitch and bought a "SAMPLER PROGRAM" to return for another week. The package was even more tempting because it included an additional 7 days in the Caribbean. BUT what the crafty salesman did NOT inform us of (even though he acknowledged that we were at this resort and Myrtle Beach MAINLY FOR OUR SON), was that the SUMMER MONTHS when we could bring our son (JUNE-AUGUST) were completely BLACKED OUT. So for us to actually return and enjoy the package that we paid $1,595 for we'd have to take our son OUT OF SCHOOL during the other available months to be able to enjoy the whole week. WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!!! When i asked if i could get a REFUND i was simply told, "No, because just like buying a new car, you can't get refunded because you don't like it afterwards". And when i asked what fee i could pay to use one of the SUMMER weeks i was told $900, holy cow!!! I could book a week on TripAdvisor for that same amount.

Room Tip: ask for recently updated room
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TateRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The Plsntstion Resort was an outstanding place to stay. The amenities and the customer service was top shelf and we especially enjoyed the shuttle service within the complex. The beaches are very well maintained and the pool area by the towers is well maintained and clean.

Room Tip: Speak with the concierge at the office within the facility to help you choose the type of facility that best suits your budget.
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank homer4103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We had a great time at this resort, we stayed at the hotel studio. the facilities is clean and staff were friendly. After reading a lot of the previous traveler’s mixed reviews, We didn’t know what to expect from this resort. I definitely love having washer/dryer, mini burners and kitchen sink (utensils/plates) in the unit. Couple days of our stay, the weather was nice enough that we can enjoyed the outdoors and kiddie pool.
The only problem is the in/ out door pools Are spread out, we need to drive there.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank rainbow888168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews