We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$142
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whispering Winds Cottages(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harney Peak Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Restmore Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Creek Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
73
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate entrancefitted sheetearly departureblack hillssmall fridge and microwaveteenage daughtergreat roomgreat memoriescoffee shopthe main dragmain attractionshot breakfastcuster state parkmount rushmorecrazy horsearea attractionsrapid city
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed her 4 nights. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfasts plentiful and flavorful. The room we had would have slept 4 if we had had a couple of kids with us. The host was very friendly and went out of his way to make sure everyone was having a good time. We hardly saw our hostess, but the short time we did see her she seemed very pleasant. They also have a coffee bar which is in the same place breakfast is served. It is not opened until after our breakfast. The rooms are however a bit too cluttered with antiques (which they also sell). I know some people like that atmosphere, but it really isn't for me. Overall I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavenportPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay here! We were able to walk around town in the evening and Linda and Sam were very enjoyable hosts. They were very knowledgeable of things to do while we were visiting South Dakota.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimiof3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Organic, high quality expresso drinks and delicious local flavor smoothies made with yogurt! If you've been missing GREAT coffee (expresso) like we were, don't miss this adorable B&B and expresso bar! It's right in town!

We were unable to stay overnight at this B&B as we needed a bigger space than was available at the time for our family of 5. However, the gracious owners, Linda and Sam, kindly invited us by to try their espresso drinks and smoothies anyway. So we did and we were so delighted we wanted to let everyone know. We had a tour of the rooms and they are beautiful - log style, bright and clean and more spacious than the Internet shows. I am sure you will be well taken care of if you can stay here. And if you can't - don't miss the expresso and smoothies! They also sell healthy, organic dark chocolate and coconut water if you are looking to detox from all the fast food on your trip!

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight so I can't help with it his.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinifromOrland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at this beautiful place at the end of June into July for 3 nights. Linda was very helpful & friendly when I called to inquire/make reservations just a few weeks prior. I really appreciate good proprietors who really care that your stay is a good experience. They have taken the time to provide all the amenities, beautiful decor, comfortable rooms, and it was QUIET even though it sets right near the main highway through town!
We had the opportunity to experience 2 of their rooms - Prairie Cabin and the Flower Girl Room and they really did feel like "in-home cabins". We were 2 adults and 2 girls aged 13 & 14. Both rooms accommodated us just fine, the girls each took a turn in the loft & twin bed in the Prairie Cabin. The loft in the Prairie Cabin is meant for younger children but the girls did fine for sleep. The loft in the Flower Girl Room had an air mattress option so was even more comfortable for the girls.
Sam & Linda prepared our delicious, hearty breakfasts and they were served in their dining/espresso bar area. We enjoyed this at an antique table & chairs, with antique dishes, surrounded by beautiful antiques for sale. (Their place is also the Smiling Bear Antiques & Espresso Bar. You will find mint pieces at a fair price. I left a few for you....)
The comfort, value, and hospitality exceeded our expectations, and we always felt very safe.
We chose Hill City because it was centrally located to the sights & activities we planned to do - it worked out perfectly.

Room Tip: Check out their website - several good photos of the place. Each room is a little different - Sam or Linda can help you decide. The main question is how many are staying & how much elbow room you need, then decide from there.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I read reviews before I stay somewhere, but seldom write them (sorry!), but I can't say enough about Mountains to Prairie - so wanted to make sure I put down my recommendation. Wonderful people, comfortable, cozy accommodations, clean, great location, and the breakfasts were so hearty that we didn't eat lunch! We traveled with two teenage children and they were happy too! It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews