We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCENIC & GEOGRAPHICALLY PERFECT CAMPING SPOT!”
Review of Nemo Guest Ranch

Nemo Guest Ranch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nemo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nemo Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 2 Nemo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Scenic mountain setting centrally located for all the biking hotspots. Friendly and accommodating owners. Quiet and quaint.

If you're looking for stupid things like no dust, no dirt, always hot showers, always perfect amenities, and no character- you're an idiot and go stay at a hotel!!

I would always come back to this location when I travel to this area. Nothing bad can be said about this place!

Room Tip: We had a camping spot and brought our pop-up camper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2015

Made a reservation in February with Troy and Willie (I now feel like family and can call them by their first names!) and from the moment Troy took our reservation I knew we were in good hands. A week later I got an envelope in the mail with a map, handwritten directions and confirmation of our pop-up camper site. We arrived for Sturgis bike week this past Sunday and couldn't have been happier with the campsite.

It's a great location 17 miles from both Sturgis and Rapid City, nestled in some of the most beautiful pine forest I've ever seen. The company on the site was amazing, respectful, quiet and very laid back- no crazy partying- just awesome bikers who were there to RIDE. Could hear a pin drop and 11 pm and by 8 am things started coming to life.

The place was PACKED with the 75th anniversary- but you never felt crowded. Were there issues? Sure- the overload on the facilities drained the well dry and Troy was so apologetic- he even went so far as to bring in a tanker to help out... but you know what? IT'S CAMPING- NOT THE HILTON!!! You make due with what you have and just wait for a shower later in the day.

The restaurant was great (OH! Definitely take the short walk across the street to the Volunteer Fire Dept Breakfast- for $8 it's well worth it!!) the ranch store has a bit of old time nostalgia and everything you need and if not, Troy will get it for you. I can't say enough about how hard the owners work and take pride in their facility.

Again- it's camping, or cabin-ing... it's rustic, it's comfortable, it's convenient and it's a great price. The scenery, the location, the owners... I just can't say enough.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank SpicyCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

I'm certain that nemo guest ranch was once a fun and fabulous place to stay. unfortunately, it is quite obvious that it is not doing well financially, because many many things are broken and it just isn't as nice as it probably once was.

We were standing outside our cabin chatting and reached over to lean on fence, and the post broke off at the ground. it was completely rotted out, and the rest of the fence was very wobbly. when we reported it the owner was rude but did come and drive a t-post in to hold up the fence.

later we overheard the owner griping about the broken fence to another customer. incredibly rude and unprofessional. the cabin was ok. not terribly clean and quite expensive. for the money i'd go stay at a hotel instead. we could have rented 3 rooms for the same price.

the owners are rude and honestly come off as nuts and the place is falling down around their ears. too bad. it could be super neat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank castlefibers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Our crews of 8 to 16 have been staying at Nemo Guest Ranch to Four Wheel the Black Hills for 17 years now.

We have seen our way through snow, rain, hail and even the Ricco Forest Fire of 2005. We have been guests through multiple owners and TRULY Troy and Willie have been the best hosts thus far.

Clean, comfortable, cabins. Attended to meticulously. Easy access to hundreds of miles of easy to extreme trails. On site General Store and Reastaurant.

Stop by Big Mamas for ice cold beer, trail advice and some great laughs.

Stugis, Deadwood, & Rapid City close by. Local restaurants, even better.

Well worth the trip and promises of great memories of the Black Hills.

-Kent

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentjnwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

14 intrepid travellers form New Zealand arrived at Nemo Guest ranch on Harley Davidsons and two big trucks,,a RV and two caravans, This was the place of dreams, We built our camp ground round one of the cabins and proceeded to have a great time attending the Sturgis rally and visiting many beautiful places of interest towns and villages, The return home to Nemo ranch each night was always fun, so much so we never eat anywhere else.
The owners are amazing, not only helpful in every way but are story tellers Extrodinare. Cant recommend the place enough.
It is a trip down memory lane

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Roversnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nemo Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nemo Guest Ranch

Address: P.O. Box 77, Nemo, SD 57759
Region: United States > South Dakota > Nemo
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nemo
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Nemo Guest Ranch Hotel Nemo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing