We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for the money”
Review of Prairie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prairie Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I found ourselves visiting Vermillion unexpectedly Labor Day weekend, and found the Prairie Inn near campus. The rates were almost half the cost of the other hotels in town. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. We had a microwave and a small refrigerator in our room which was a nice plus. The biggest surprise was the free continental breakfast which included a set up to make your own waffles, in addition to biscuits and gravy, breads, and pastries. I even found the other guests to be pleasant. I will definitely stay here again next visit. Staff was friendly, and left us alone- no unwelcome knocks on the door!

Room Tip: Go for a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aruna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

After reading others reports, I was a little leary but we did not have any of these problems. Room was fine, very quiet, temperature control was great and the clerk in the lobby was pleasant. Great tv, wifi connectin was simple. We did not hear a sound from the bowling alley and had a light supper in the bar/ lounge attached. The college campus is right across the street and was a nice place to walk and unwind. Overall we would stay again. as the price today was unbelieveable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Dead insects on the floor of our room. Mold on bagles and bread at breakfast bar. Reserved for 3 nights - we left after two because of the conditions, the manager refused to refund the third night, she said the room couldn't be rented on a Saturday night during move in weekend in a college town. This is the worst place we've ever stayed. Wouldn't recommend this place to an enemy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I picked this hotel based on the reviews of all the hotels in Vermillion. I was wrong. This was rated the highest but it should be rated at the bottom of the list. To give the hotel credit--the staff was lovely. I arrived after 11:00 pm and they made arrangement for my keys since they close the front desk (and the front door) at 11 pm. This fact is not mentioned anywhere on their website and should be. The woman at the desk the next morning was very pleasant. I hated to have to tell her how dirty the room was.

The room was a king suite, but had the oddest layout I've ever seen. A lot of empty space. The carpet was very dirty and hadn't been vacuumed for awhile. The room was also dusty. The bathroom floor wasn't clean. Some water damage had occurred in the bathroom and had been shoddily repaired. Repairs to the bedroom wall had also been made but the wall was never repainted. The entire room was very dark and dingy and so were the hallways and even the lobby. Nothing was very inviting looking. They've tried to make the rooms nice by having a tile floor in the bathroom with a granite countertop and a glass bowl sink, but these nice touches are offset by the ugly carpet and the drab bed linens and the cheap towels and the dirty room. The bathroom sink barely drained. The towels are thin and some had stains on them. The bed linens were cheap and appeared old and not very clean. One pillowcase had a cigarette burn in it. The bed itself was okay but the pillows were awful.

Breakfast is in an enclosed room which feels sort of like a closet. The food selections were minimal--Cheerios, a few slices of bread for toast, some small and not very fresh bagels, and a few mass produced pastries. They also had cups of waffle batter to make your own waffle but I didn't try it. McDonald's a few doors down the street would be a better option.

The internet connection is poor at best. I couldn't connect in my room at all and when I tried to use the computer in the lobby, it would open a web page, but then nothing else. Plus the dust and grime on the keyboard was disgusting!

This hotel doesn't have a pool or fitness center. I didn't even see an elevator so I don't believe the 2nd floor is accessible

You would be much better off staying somewhere else in Vermillion. Another family member who stayed at the Comfort Inn which is being turned into a Best Western said the remodeled rooms weren't bad and another party liked the Winery bed and breakfast.

My terrible rating of the value of this hotel is based on the fact that I paid $107.00 for a room which made me feel very unclean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendaSt_Paul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed overnight on a Friday. Hotel was sold out, but you would never guess it as it was quiet all night. Great rate and very close to USD. A nice surprise was a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Room upstairs are all 2-queen beds. There is also a large flat screen tv with decent cable incl. HBO.

Room is pretty basic on the looks department....it's nothing fancy. My only negative, which was huge for me, was that the wi-fi didn't work most of the day...or the signal was really weak.

Would stay here again....mainly because it's half the cost of the Holiday Inn. I can't review the free breakfast as I much prefer to eat breakfast at the Cherry Street Grill down the street...well worth the money!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank TKSMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermillion
1 km away
Best Western Vermillion Inn
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion
33.8 km away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Hartington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
#2 of 4 in Vermillion
35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Inn

Address: 916 N Dakota St, Vermillion, SD 57069-1201
Region: United States > South Dakota > Vermillion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Price Range: $96 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prairie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service hotel in Vermillion. The Prairie Inn is attached to Howlers a restaurant and lounge, there is also a bowling alley in our complex. The Prairie Inn was recently remodeled inside and out.We feature all flat screen TVs, new beds,and refrigerators/microwaves.We are most proud of is our real dakota hospitality! We are located across from the Dakota Dome and adjcent to the University of South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prairie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prairie Hotel Vermillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing