We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Manager is the devil”
Review of Prairie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prairie Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in. The manager even broke into our room and went through our suitcases. They seem nice when you arrive but after they have your money you are of no importance. Don't use your credit card there because she also attempted to place false charges against our credit cards after we had left due to her being a psychopath. Try the comfort Inn they are very pleasant and the rooms are beautiful. I have never had a problem there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1badanounymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

Prairie Inn is an older hotel which has been very nicely renovated. The king room was up-to-date and very comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good. This is a great place to stay for the price, especially when compared to other hotels in town. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvinLife1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I found ourselves visiting Vermillion unexpectedly Labor Day weekend, and found the Prairie Inn near campus. The rates were almost half the cost of the other hotels in town. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. We had a microwave and a small refrigerator in our room which was a nice plus. The biggest surprise was the free continental breakfast which included a set up to make your own waffles, in addition to biscuits and gravy, breads, and pastries. I even found the other guests to be pleasant. I will definitely stay here again next visit. Staff was friendly, and left us alone- no unwelcome knocks on the door!

Room Tip: Go for a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aruna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

After reading others reports, I was a little leary but we did not have any of these problems. Room was fine, very quiet, temperature control was great and the clerk in the lobby was pleasant. Great tv, wifi connectin was simple. We did not hear a sound from the bowling alley and had a light supper in the bar/ lounge attached. The college campus is right across the street and was a nice place to walk and unwind. Overall we would stay again. as the price today was unbelieveable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Dead insects on the floor of our room. Mold on bagles and bread at breakfast bar. Reserved for 3 nights - we left after two because of the conditions, the manager refused to refund the third night, she said the room couldn't be rented on a Saturday night during move in weekend in a college town. This is the worst place we've ever stayed. Wouldn't recommend this place to an enemy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermillion
1.0 km away
Best Western Vermillion Inn
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion
40.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Yankton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 km away
Best Western Kelly Inn
Best Western Kelly Inn
#1 of 7 in Yankton
333 reviews
1.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
#2 of 4 in Vermillion
35 reviews
40.2 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 7 in Yankton
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Inn

Address: 916 N Dakota St, Vermillion, SD 57069-1201
Region: United States > South Dakota > Vermillion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Price Range: $113 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prairie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service hotel in Vermillion. The Prairie Inn is attached to Howlers a restaurant and lounge, there is also a bowling alley in our complex. The Prairie Inn was recently remodeled inside and out.We feature all flat screen TVs, new beds,and refrigerators/microwaves.We are most proud of is our real dakota hospitality! We are located across from the Dakota Dome and adjcent to the University of South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prairie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prairie Hotel Vermillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing