We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to USD Campus”
Review of Prairie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prairie Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Reviewed 21 June 2015

I stayed at the Prairie Inn with two other friends/colleagues for a conference at USD. We were excited to find that they have (at least) one room with three queen beds, which was perfect for us! The room itself was clean, and the beds were a little soft, but still comfortable. The towels and pillows were adequate, but are showing their wear and are probably about due to be replaced. The hotel itself would be well-served to try to add something to their breakfast other than carb-heavy bagels, rolls, waffles and cereal (something simple like apples, bananas and/or hard-boiled eggs would be an improvement). Overall, it was a decent place to spend three nights, and the closeness to USD was worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms with three queen beds are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2015

The Inn was not worth the price we paid. We made a reservation 2 months in advance because of a wedding and when I checked on the reservation 2 weeks before we were to arrive, they had no record. The same thing happened to others in the wedding party. After a second phone call we got our room for 3 nights, Although we requested a first floor, because of our age, we ended up on the second floor, no elevators. The breakfast was very basic, again, not worth the price. The room was very noisy. You could hear every footstep that went down the hall.

Room Tip: Not worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

The rooms were clean. The staff was friendly. Pretty basic things like soap, shampoo were at a minimum. The drink machine wouldn't except bills, change only (it was broken). The overall experience was pleasant. The breakfast was good with plenty of variety.

Room Tip: stay away from the lobby area. There's a bar next door that got very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We were given our reservation here by my fiance's work company. We got to our room, which is a clean room with comfortable beds. It is an older hotel but still a good place to stay with a few issues. We would have prefered one bed and a sofa however. The rooms are joined which both surprised me and concerned me a bit. We can hear our room neighbors. When I went to do laundry, the laundry room was locked so I had to call down to have it opened and the dryer wasn't working so I had to carry heavy wet clothes downstairs to be dried in the hotel dryer. Breakfast is the same as most places...cereal and waffles, but is well stocked and the breakfast area is clean. Also, online it said that it had a picnic area. I looked and all I saw is a picnic table by the road. The workout area has a few machines. The staff was helpful. but upon asking for more coffee, I was given 1....yep one and there are two of us staying here, so we went and got a coffee pot and a can of coffee. There are a few good places to eat in the area but NO decent shopping. Not even a $ general or family $. There is a grocery store and thank goodness a Walmart. So any shopping you want to do even for just general stuff, you go to walmart or to another town. So all in all, this is a decent place to stay with clean rooms and comfortable beds. I would not know about the value however, since the company paid for our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Our friends stayed in a more expensive motel down the road; when we went to visit them, I can't say it was any better than our room, honestly. One of the most interesting things that happened is that I and three of my kids checked in, hauled our bags to our room, went to the bathroom, checked out the tv, etc. We were headed to Yankton to visit our friends, so after about 20 minutes of playing in the room, we went out to our van. Lo and behold, my son had left the side door of the van open. My heart sunk as I walked up to it. However, all the iPods, electronics, MY PURSE and everything was still in the van. The breakfast was great and well-stocked. It's not as new as some of the other motels, but it's a great value!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermillion
1.0 km away
Best Western Vermillion Inn
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion
40.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Yankton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 km away
Best Western Kelly Inn
Best Western Kelly Inn
#1 of 7 in Yankton
333 reviews
1.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
#2 of 4 in Vermillion
35 reviews
40.2 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 7 in Yankton
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Inn

Address: 916 N Dakota St, Vermillion, SD 57069-1201
Region: United States > South Dakota > Vermillion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Price Range: $114 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prairie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service hotel in Vermillion. The Prairie Inn is attached to Howlers a restaurant and lounge, there is also a bowling alley in our complex. The Prairie Inn was recently remodeled inside and out.We feature all flat screen TVs, new beds,and refrigerators/microwaves.We are most proud of is our real dakota hospitality! We are located across from the Dakota Dome and adjcent to the University of South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prairie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prairie Hotel Vermillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing