We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old mansion with lots of charm!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayor's Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We were met by a nice young man, who showed us to our room and informed us as to breakfast hours, cookies, ice, coffee & tea and use of the front deck. Our room was on the 2nd floor (one of many rooms in this large old home) and in a corner of the building.
Strangely, the canopy above the bed was partially flipped up, and the spread was hanging down on the floor behind the foot chest, instead of being pulled up higher on the bed. When we returned that evening, during turn down service, I saw that they had piled all the pillows etc. behind the couch on the floor. Made me feel a little grimy having my head on a pillow that was covered by those all day long after their dirty storage... (FJI - the chest at the foot of the bed was empty and would be cleaner!) Housekeeping issues. Other than that, a lovely place to stay and a delicious breakfast in the beautiful Tiffany room in the morning.

Room Tip: Depending on your ability to climb stairs - all involve them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krisinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2017

You cannot beat the breakfast! Absolutely elegant. Happy hour on the huge porch...what a wonderful time. Visiting Chattanooga, what a wonderful place to stay.
Quiet street...close to everything

Very relaxed.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms. We had 3 rooms and all were great. Coffee and tea righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We stayed here for two nights. As long-term B & B travelers (100+), we find that service is just as important as the actual facility in how good your stay is. This is a large stone late 19c mansion on a hilltop about a mile from downtown Chattanooga. It's actually a bit more like a boutique hotel. It's adjacent to the campus of UT-Chattanooga, and good restaurants are within a five minute drive. The common rooms have the exquisite furnishings (mostly original to the house) you often see in a Gilded Age residence, including many beautiful paintings. We had the Cumberland Suite, a very large room on the top floor. The room was lovely and well furnished with a King Bed and large bathroom with a dressing table. Note that this room is on the 3rd floor and it's a good climb to get up there (no elevator), but staff will help you with your bags. The only complaints on the room were that the flat screen TV is small and a little hard to see from the bed, and the shower pressure was weak.

They do an excellent job of providing great service----some of the staff members have been there for many years, and are always there to help with whatever you need. The 3-course breakfast in the lovely dining room was truly gourmet (almost more than you can eat)---creative dishes which were very tasty. Other aspects indicating the emphasis on service here is the bottle of chilled champagne and chocolates in your room when you arrive, 24 hour access to inn staff, and food and wine which can be delivered to your room. Parking is plentiful on site. Overall, this was an excellent stay for us---you won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be large and well furnished. The Cumberland Suite does require climbing two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Mansion built in the late 1800's has unbelievable architecture and craftsmanship. We enjoy just wandering from room to room and the breakfast was quite good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the third floor in a roo. With Oriental decore and slept quite well.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RickMac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

This bed and breakfast is gorgeous. The room was huge with a giant four poster bed and even a fireplace. The bathroom was equally huge. Even in the old building, the wifi was great. My only very slight complaint was the room was very cold, even though it was quite warm outside. The three-course breakfast was excellent. The staff is very nice. It was also nice to wander around the rooms downstairs to take in the history of the building. It is within walking distance to the UTC campus.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lizardtiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.5 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,428 reviews
1.7 km away
The Westin Chattanooga
The Westin Chattanooga
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
74 reviews
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.5 km away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#41 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,754 reviews
1.2 km away
The Dwell Hotel
The Dwell Hotel
#24 of 96 in Chattanooga
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor's Mansion Inn

Address: 801 Vine St, Chattanooga, TN 37403-2318
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range: $165 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mayor`s Mansion Hotel Chattanooga
Mayors Mansion Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing