We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to give this establishment five stars, but...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayor's Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Let's start with the positives: Beautiful property, excellent location, owners are absolutely delightful people. Room was large and nicely furnished.
Negatives: (please address with housekeeping, if applicable). We were in room 23, and although the bathroom itself was very clean, the shower curtain liner was covered with mildew on the bottom and desperately needs to be replaced. There was also mildew on the shower tiles.
Breakfast was cold, and the window of time to eat was only an hour (8am to 9am). Having stayed at numerous bed and breakfasts abroad, I recommend a two-hour window as this is far more accommodating to guests.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommylovesJaydin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMIowner, Owner at Mayor's Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thanks for the positive comments as well as the negatives. Sorry that your experience was less than you expected. We would have been happy to have fixed your issues if you had mentioned them while you were on the property. There are many moving parts to this operation and at times, we have to fix things "on the fly" and are very grateful to Guests who give us the opportunity to do so.

Shower curtains are replaced periodically and we had some on the shelf to replace affected rooms. We have replaced the one in the room you stayed in as well as others and have re-caulked the tub completely to fix the small section of which you made reference.

Thanks for your comments, Mark Ladd, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017

We booked a one night stay to spend a night in Chattanooga. Cyndi & Mark, the innkeepers, could not have been more helpful and personable. They welcomed us with open arms the moment we walked up to the entrance. Our accommodations were first rate with beautiful decor and all the amenities one could ask for at a bed and breakfast. The inn itself just exuded a glimpse of historical Chattanooga. We could just sense the stories that existed within if only the walls could talk. Breakfast was very good and served with a smile and warmth that one could only receive at a first rate bed and breakfast. Should we ever find ourselves in Chattanooga for another night's visit, the Mayors Mansion Inn will be our first choice again.
Lester & Diane

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lester A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

My husband made a reservation for us to stay there for our 5th wedding anniversary. After confirming our reservation via phone, he received a call back from the Mayor’s Mansion explaining that our reservation was being cancelled due to it being a “popular weekend”. The owner was requiring a 2 night minimum. Note: we were not told this when making our reservation AND there were 3 suites available for the night of our reservation. We find this to be both tacky and greedy. We will not be seeking to do business there again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMIowner, Owner at Mayor's Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Two night minimums are standard for our type of business. It is not driven by "greed" and we do not view our normal terms and conditions as "tacky". On weekends that are particularly popular, we always enforce that policy. Your review was based on your dislike of our policies, not as the result of a stay. Sorry that you are unhappy with us, I'm sure that if you work for a living there are terms and conditions that exist in your world that define how your company does business.

Mark Ladd, owner
Mayors Mansion Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

In mid-September we stayed at the Mayor's Mansion Inn. The location was very convenient and close to downtown. Parking was free and very convenient. The first floor of the mansion was beautiful. The breakfasts were good. The girl who checked us in (I think her name was Rebecca) was delightful and very friendly. We appreciated her efforts to provide a pleasant stay for us.
We stayed in the Chickamauga suite. The furnishings were perfectly fine. There were several issues, however. First, we were unable to control the temperature in the room. The room was extremely cool and very humid, which created a damp, cold kind of feeling. We wore our jackets anytime we were in the room. Our sheets on the bed were so damp feeling that I slept in my street clothes the second night to avoid having contact with them. All of my clothes came back with a weird smell from the room. The second issue was the tub. It was very, very slow draining. My husband took a 10 minute shower and the tub filled up 6 inches. I tried waiting a while for it to drain before taking a shower, but it never did. I ended up stepping into scummy soapy water to take my shower. The third issue was the cleaning of the room. The bathroom was not cleaned. There was a piece of hair on the sink when we left that remained after the room was cleaned. Also, the tub was never cleaned, so on day 2, I had to step into the dirty shower. Yuck! Anyone cleaning the room should have been able to identify that there was a problem with this tub.
I would give the room a poor rating and the rest of the inn a good rating.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovetobake811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMIowner, Owner at Mayor's Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Happy you stayed with us and that you enjoyed our common areas and our friendly staff. I remember talking with you at breakfast regarding the slow drain and making sure that it was, in fact, cleared. You indicated that all was good in that regard and I assumed that was your only issue. There are times that a slow drain is not evident to someone cleaning the room as the water used cleaning the tub doesn't generate the volume of a shower or bath.
However, re-cleaning the room after a slow drain is standard procedure and we failed you in that regard. I apologize for this and, as always, any time we fail to make a guest's stay as good as we can, we take the blame and (re-) learn the lessons of attention to detail.

yours truly,

Mark Ladd, owner
Mayors Mansion Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We had a wonderful experience for our Bridal Shower Tea at the Mayor's Mansion in Chattanooga. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely. They did all the work and we had all the fun. I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Motherofthebride82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMIowner, Owner at Mayor's Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks so much for the kind words and for letting us be a part of your special day. Events like your shower are soooo much better for you and your friends when the details are not your worry. Cindi and I enjoyed having you.

We hope your new life is full of happiness.

yours truly,

Mark Ladd, owner
Mayors Mansion Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.5 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,426 reviews
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
1.7 km away
The Westin Chattanooga
The Westin Chattanooga
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.5 km away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#41 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,752 reviews
2.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor's Mansion Inn

Address: 801 Vine St, Chattanooga, TN 37403-2318
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range: $164 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mayor`s Mansion Hotel Chattanooga
Mayors Mansion Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing