We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Carnegie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnegie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We got a real deal on a king room at this very fine hotel. Located directly across from ETSU and very close to pretty much everything in Johnson City, this hotel hosts first class events in style. We chose not to got to the "Escape from Alcatraz" New Years party, but did stop by and can attest that it was a first class event. Our king room was very spacious with large windows that darkened nicely with curtains. Had a fold out sleeper sofa as well, and flat screen TV and very small fridge (no microwave). Starbucks coffee in room (regular and decaf). Very spacious bathroom with separate tub and shower. Great water pressure. No jetted tub anywhere on premesis, which was our only disappointment. We did use the spa, having a couples' massage and spending a little time in the dry sauna. I did a separate review on the spa. It was also very nice-very relaxing atmosphere. Service was very friendly at the hotel. We really had no complaints. We felt lucky for the opportunity to experience such a wonderful hotel in Johnson City.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Supervisor at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your review of the Carnegie Hotel, Lois P!

We are delighted to have had you as a guest and patron of Austin Springs Spa! We are glad that your experience with us was enjoyable, and we hope to see you again in the future! Hopefully for another couple's massage!

Warm Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Love this hotel.

We normally stay on one of the upper floors however this time had a first floor room. The first floor rooms have higher ceilings, however we prefer the upper floors. Nice staff. Beautiful hotel nicely appointed.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Supervisor at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback of your most recent stay at the Carnegie Hotel!

Lisa, we will keep in mind your floor preference for your next stay! We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Our small king room was huge! Great hospitality and service! Parking was easy as well as check in. Huge bathrooms! Giant tub and shower, super comfy bed! Didn't want to leave!! We will return! Thank you Linda!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Scarlet n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Supervisor at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your review of the Carnegie Hotel, Scarlet!

We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that the room was to your liking! We will relay your thanks to our Front Desk Ambassador, Linda!

We hope to see you again in any future Johnson City, TN visits!

Warm Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We only stayed one night at the Carnegie but I would definitely stay here again if I were to be in this area again. I booked through Hotels.com and saved a considerable amount of money when compared to the hotel's website. That being said I was not treated any different by the hotel staff. They were warm and welcoming. We booked a room with 2 Queen beds and they gave us a room with 1 king. We returned to the front desk and they promptly fixed the problem and were apologetic and moved us up to a higher floor for the minor inconvenience. The rooms are extremely spacious, the bathroom is huge with a shower and a separate tub. Everything was clean. Most importantly the rooms feel like bedrooms as they were extremely comfortable sleigh beds. You cannot go wrong with this hotel at all. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area. Beautiful hotel and so clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GatorGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Supervisor at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback of your most recent visit to the Carnegie Hotel!

I am pleased to hear that your room type misunderstanding was remedied in a proper and timely manner! Also keep in mind that if you call the hotel directly we can match any online rate! We are very grateful for your candor and we hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

this is easily a 4+ star hotel great front desk people the furnishing are from mostly European countries lower level wine cellar gates are massive @ the lounge bar there is a extremely large selection of scotch the rooms are huge with king size sleigh beds & an very large bath with double sinks &separate shower & tub there is an all weather walk way across the street to the ETSU campus the room rates are very reasonable for such a very nice place yes a walk back in time ps super spa also

Room Tip: higher floors on street side for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruced255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Supervisor at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your review of the Carnegie Hotel!

We appreciate your feedback of your most recent stay! If you decide to return to our establishment the Carnegie will have a warm welcome in store for you!

Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
3.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
488 reviews
9.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Johnson City
4.8 km away
Courtyard Johnson City
Courtyard Johnson City
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
200 reviews
5 km away
Holiday Inn Johnson City
Holiday Inn Johnson City
#11 of 19 in Johnson City
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Hotel

Address: 1216 W State of Franklin Rd, Johnson City, TN 37604-6568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johnson City
#1 Business Hotel in Johnson City
Price Range: $165 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carnegie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carnegie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Johnson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing