We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express(Johnson City)
US$85
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Downtown(Johnson City)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Johnson City)
US$81
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Johnson City(Johnson City)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
463
134
30
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
134
30
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelsleigh bedseparate tub and showerdouble sinksparking garageclassic hotelthe lower levelnicest hotelold worldeast tennesseerooms are hugechain hotelswalk in showercomfortable bedfront desk staffice machineplenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Rooms are small, but you are not in NYC to sit in your room. New, modern and very clean. Free wifi, in room fridge, not to mention complimentary breakfast and wine/cheese hour. Great location and friendly staff. FYI, check out Tanner Smiths cocktail lounge, great cocktails and super staff.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hawkeyewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for your review, Hawkeyewriter! However, it appears that you have us confused with the Carnegie Hotel in New York.

We hope that you enjoyed your trip to NYC and hope to make it down to see us in Johnson City, TN!

Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Stayed a couple of night at the Carnegie as a guest of ETSU. It was a really great hotel. The room was spacious and well appointed and the bathroom was big and had every amenity. The room was very clean and, as well as a comfortable and clean bed, had a desk area to work and a sofa to relax. The bathroom had a spacious shower and a nice big tub. Double sinks for couples if you need. The public areas were well appointed and relaxing and the bar was great. The restaurant was a good space but the fare was very southern and heavy on cream and dairy. Maybe not for vegetarians and definitely not for vegans, but I'm sure you can find many good fooleries in this city. The staff were great, really pleasant and helpful. The breakfast staff even remembered me from the day before. There's a shuttle to take you to the airport. You really felt it was a concierge service. I would really recommend this hotel if you are visiting the Tri-city area or ETSU. I had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julienrobson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review of the Carnegie Hotel, julienrobson55!

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We hope that your visit with ETSU was eventful. Thank you for all of your kind comments about our hotel and restaurant, and its amenities!

We hope to see you again in the Tri-City area again soon!

Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Spent the weekend for special events. What a fabulous place to relax and to have events! The banquet staff did an amazing job. Crystal Phillips and the desk staff, and Austin Springs spa staff were so friendly and made it an amazing weekend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SW0820981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us! We hope the special events went well! Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and its staff and we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

It was a pleasure to stay outside of a chain hotel and this one is a treat. The rooms are luxuriously filled with beautiful fabric drapes, paintings, comfortable beds, an armoire housed tv, and a HUGE BATHROOM featuring a separate shower and a tub. The bathroom also boasts two sinks and plenty of counter space. Be sure to order room service breakfast, it is delicious and served on a silver platter.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for the review, Pam G!

Thank you for choosing the Carnegie Hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was to your liking. We hope to see you back in the Johnson City area for a return visit!

Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Carnegie. It is such a beautiful hotel reminiscent of the 19th century. The lobby has an elegant charm. Front desk staff was very friendly. The rooms and bathrooms are very large and clean. Price is great too.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank charmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Front Desk Manager at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for reviewing the Carnegie Hotel, charmom1!

We appreciate your return visit!!! We are very grateful for your review and your kind comments about our property.

We look forward to your third visit!

Regards,

Christian L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews