We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$290
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
US$265
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Leenane Hotel(Leenane)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delphi Resort(Leenane)
US$192
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
104
62
26
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
62
26
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarna baylovely hotelchowderlocal beachessaturday nightdining roombar and restaurantthis family run hotelstaff were so friendlycodcourse mealhot foodbeautiful scenerytrue irish welcomelook forwardfreshly baked sconespint of guinness
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

It would be easy to go through the negatives of the Carna Bay Hotel. It is not a hotel to compete with the 4 & 5 star hotels in the West of Ireland, then again it does not claim to be anything else then what it is. There are a number of positives to this hotel. The location provides stunning drives and views. The staff we encountered were very friendly and efficient. The room was clean with a large comfortable bed. We ate in the bar and the food was tasty and good value. I would be very fussy about my pint of Guinness and have never got a good one in a hotel, until I had one in the bar of the Carna Bay. It was up there with the best of them. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Connemara that is reasonable value for money then try the Carna Bay

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Overall, this is a nice enough hotel in a beautiful location. Our stay was tarnished somewhat though, as when we arrived we were given the key to a room that hadn't been cleaned yet! Reception apologised and gave us the key to another room but, while the new room had been cleaned, there was someone's jumper on the table in the room, along with some picked wildflowers strewn beside it. Very strange! It was almost as if whoever had been cleaning the rooms that day had been disturbed during their job or had been rushing or distracted for some reason.

This aside, the room itself was quite comfortable, if a little dated, and I had a good, quiet nights sleep. The television is very basic, with only a handful of channels, and the bar television only has a handful of free to air channels too. The shower in the rooms en suite was also not great at all and had very little power.

We had dinner in the hotel bar and it was fairly average and a bit overpriced for what you got.

Overall this is a good spot to stay in an area with limited accommodation, but a few upgrades to the place are probably needed at this stage.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fairyfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Our first time away with one of our dogs. Carna Bay Hotel was simple and relaxed. Thankfully our first overnight away with our dog went well and she behaved herself. Enjoyed a nice meal sitting outside thanks to being lucky with the weather and visited Dogs Bay Beach for a nice walk. Afterwards, noticed that there are more local beaches pictured and marked on a map in reception but didn't get to see them. Enjoyed a very nice breakfast, the staff were all friendly and helpful and all in all a pleasant overnight stay.

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank HappymummyKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Very dated hotel, lacks atmosphere completely, especially in bar and restaurant. Foyer area dark and not welcoming. WiFi coverage very poor, not dependable at all. Bedrooms small and basic. No lock on bathroom door, extractor fan not working, problems turning off hot tap in bath. Shower over bath only! Kettle can only be plugged in while on the floor..extremely dangerous and unhygenic! No views except people's back gardens, No garden areas to sit out and relax in.
Breakfast was fine, staff very friendly and helpful.
€300.00 for 2 nights B&B, two adults and one child, very overpriced, much better value elsewhere! Very disappointing over all. Will not be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Fionnuala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

This was one of the best meals out we have had for a long time. Very pleasant surroundings, friendly staff. The food was excellent, couldn't fault it. Be aware, it wasn't cheap but then the exchange rate isn't good at present and they do charge a service charge.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank kingsleygtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews