We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plough Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Ventry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We found the Plough difficult to find as the sign had been turned around and place names were in Gaelic.We arrived fairly late and was greeted by a surly hostess. The rooms were gaudily decorated and small. The en-suite was tiny with a sliding door.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
Views from the house were very nice and the surrounding area beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice F, Owner at The Plough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your review,sorry to hear that you were not happy,as there are not many B&B in Ventry you were glad to have a room for the night.
Had you looked up the web sight you would have seen clearly my en-suits and decor of the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

4 - 8 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Small family owned business,very friendly,helpful staff (Nathan) when called to book the rooms.next day the owner called back to confirm the booking.when we arrived they welcome us (4 adults and 1 child) warmly and told us what to do in the close area.the rooms where clean and comfortable.the view from the property and rooms are breath taking,short walk to the local beach.Breakfast tasty. definitely recommending.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anikobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

I along with my wife and some friends, we stayed one night at this B & B with a beautiful view of the ocean, host (Beatrice) greeted us warmly when we arrived and was very friendly. The breakfast she prepared was delicious.
Definitely will recommend this B & B

Thank you Beatrice

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Cosmin Mihai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Disappointed to arrive and find that not ALL rooms have a view, as we were led to believe. we were in the tiny back room with no view. We were able to sit out in the front garden and take in the beautiful view.
On the plus side the breakfast was great, loved the porridge, the cooked breakfast was very nice and plenty of it.
Dingle is beautiful and the day drive around Slea Head has magnificent views.
All said and done we were really only sleeping there, so the tiny room wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I am giving the staff of The Plough B&B four stars because they did their best to help me find another place after Booking.com overbooked us. We received a confirmation email from Booking.com so I assumed everything was fine, but didn't see an email sent later by The Plough stating that they are fully booked but was holding another place for us if we responded with the next half hour. Needless to say we lost that place. Dingle was having their annual food festival so everyplace near and around Dingle was fully booked. We decided not to stay in the area but moved on with our travels down the Irish coastline.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank krwatanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventry
7.2 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Dingle Skellig Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dingle
1,707 reviews
5.8 km away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#4 of 10 in Dingle
480 reviews
7.2 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dingle
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ballyferriter
72 reviews
3.4 km away
Ceann Sibeal Hotel
Ceann Sibeal Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ballyferriter
152 reviews
5.2 km away
The Coastguard House @ Tigh T.P.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ventry Village, Ventry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Ventry
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ventry
Price Range: $136 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Plough Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing