We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourgeous Centre”

Ulster Canal Stores Bistro & Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Clones
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Description: A child friendly Bistro & Coffee Shop specialising in fresh food - homemade from starters to deserts! We cater for all occasions, private functions and conferences for up to 50 people. Located in a beautifully restored Canal Stores building also serving as a Cultural & Tourism Centre,the Canal stores is home to a permanent lace exhibition and has local arts & crafts on sale.
Restaurant details
Description: A child friendly Bistro & Coffee Shop specialising in fresh food - homemade from starters to deserts! We cater for all occasions, private functions and conferences for up to 50 people. Located in a beautifully restored Canal Stores building also serving as a Cultural & Tourism Centre,the Canal stores is home to a permanent lace exhibition and has local arts & crafts on sale.
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

This venue is perfect for concerts, or functions, and is decorated beautifully. The staff are always so kind and lovely, and the cafe is great. There is lots to look at and do. Really recommend this store.

Thank Rossa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellydeirdre, Manager at Ulster Canal Stores Bistro & Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Rossa, thank you so much for the lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your trip to the Ulster Canal Stores and look toward to seeing you back again soon. Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The Canal Stores Clones is the place to go. Starts with excellent staff, premises & the food is just mouthwatering .Nothing is too much bother for them. Deirdre runs a tight friendly ship & makes time to make everyone feel very welcome. Sharon is one of the friendliest waitresses you will have the pleasure of dealing with & Lynn with the help of Vera cooks up a storm in the kitchen. Kathleen & the other young girl (on reception) are excellent in directing folk to local attractions & points of interest. The whole package keeps this beautiful spot a must on a visit to Clones.

Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDKelly, Tourism Officer at Ulster Canal Stores Bistro & Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, we really appreciate it, and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Very good food for such a small restaurant. I had the voula vents with salad and chips. The staff are quite friendly and helpful. Very handy for dinner when you don't want to cook something.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hugh Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDKelly, Manager at Ulster Canal Stores Bistro & Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for the compliments, we're delighted you enjoyed your meal, pop in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Most friendly and welcoming staff, a lovely selection of items on the menu and I chose the Vol au Vent which was one of the nicest I have ever eaten. I would certainly recommend and I will return to the Canal Stores.

Thank rebeccaxmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDKelly, Manager at Ulster Canal Stores Bistro & Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate both your business and positive comments, and look forward to you visiting with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Tasty grub, very friendly staff and reasonably priced. While waiting on our meal we had a quick look downstairs where there is history about the local lace industry. A short walk away there is a great play park for the kids. A great spot to pull In for a break.

Thank MourneRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerDKelly, Manager at Ulster Canal Stores Bistro & Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Many thanks for visiting us at the Ulster Canal Stores and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you took the time to visit our lace collection and hope you found it interesting. Do call in again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ulster Canal Stores Bistro & Coffee Shop also viewed

Clones, County Monaghan
Clones, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Clones, County Monaghan
 

Been to Ulster Canal Stores Bistro & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing