We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage luxury with superior service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My stay at Castle Leslie left me promising to return. It was far too brief with just one night.
The castle and surrounds are breath taking. The ambience is vintage luxury. Each room is unique. No modern day distractions such as tv but wi-fi is available.

I arrived late in the evening. Checkin was very friendly and efficient. there are no lifts but the receptionist did show me to my room. I stayed in Norman's room which has a 4 poster bed and a view overlooking the garden. The room was just fab.

I was too late for bar food but I got a main course of pork belly in the dinning room. The service was superb, every staff member was attentive and friendly. my dinner was excellent, presentation, service, taste - a truly amazing main course. The menu was great, i found it difficult to make a decision as all the options looked so tempting.

Breakfast was incredible the next morning. The selection ranged from yogurts, frest fruit juices, followed by choices of full irish, pancakes etc. The presentation and service was fantastic.

After breakfast, I went for a walk on the grounds, stunning.

Although a brief stay I would thoroughly recommend it and will hopefully get an opportunity to enjoy a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: If you wish to use the treatment rooms, book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciarrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us in The Castle at Castle Leslie Estate.

The team will be delighted to read your comments and praise, thank you again for your recognition of their efforts.

We are heartened by your kind words and recognition of our restaurant dining experience for both dinner and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,288 - 1,292 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed in the Lodge at Castle Leslie for an overnight escape in November. The rooms are luxurious and very comfortable, and overlooks the riding stables. Castle Leslie has wonderful groudns, unfortunately the weather meant we didn't get to explore a lot of it. We ate in Snaffles restaurant as the Castles dining room was not open that night. The food was good, not high cuisine but an acceptable standard. We went up to the castle on Saturday morning and it is beautifully maintained and well worth a visit. When we were checking out we had a query about the room rate and also our entitlement to a bottle of house wine. The room rate was clarified the following day. However, despite 3 e-mails, we are still waiting on clarification in relation to the wine. It is unfortunate that the customer service lets down the establishment, as it has everything else going for it. It has coloured our opinion about returning there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HenriettaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for taking the time to write your review, regarding your recent stay with us in The Lodge at Castle Leslie Estate.

Thank you, for your very kind comments regarding your guest bed room in The Lodge and our Castle and grounds. Our Accommodation and Maintenance/Gardening Team will be delighted to read your comments and praise of their continued hard work.

I am disappointed to read your comments in relation to your query regarding your wine, I understand that this matter is resolved and on behalf of the team, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Castle Leslie Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife: "When you're staying in a good hotel, you can relax, confident that you will have an enjoyable experience." This is Castle Leslie, tucked away on an Irish estate, just over the border from N Ireland. We stayed in one of the named rooms in the Lodge, overlooking the estate's riding stables. The room was very comfortable, warm -- as was the rest of the hotel -- on a cold, clear December weekend. Restaurant service is excellent, and food is perfectly prepared. The estate and small community around it, Glaslough, offer short and peaceful walks, past the castle itself, to the small lake beyond -- interludes around an exceptionally well organised wedding party, which took place in the castle, itself a superb venue for the occasion.

Room Tip: Take advice from staff ahead of visiting -- they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us in The Lodge at Castle Leslie Estate.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found your guestroom comfortable and relaxing.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our service and our cuisine.

We are delighted you took the opportunity to explore a small part of the estate on your visit. The Village of Glaslough which is on our door step is full of warmth and character; the local business owners offer a warm welcome and a neighborly chat.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Castle Leslie Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Caste Leslie is by far the most beautiful place I have ever stayed in. Fabulous unique bedrooms, top quality food, amazing service, picturesque grounds and fantastic spa facilities, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The dinner was one of the best Ive had in any restaurant, and the breakfast was delicious with a huge variety both in the buffet and cooked options. We were sad to hear the dining room in the castle will close in the New Year. We stayed in Shane's Room, which was really romantic with lovely views of the lake and grounds. The drawing room and library were so relaxing with the open fires and variety of newspapers and interesting books and quirky magazines. My only regret is that we didn't staying longer! Will definately return, top class hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room that you like on booking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ro346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us in The Castle at Castle Leslie Estate.

The team will be delighted to read your comments and praise, thank you again for your recognition of their efforts.

We are heartened by your kind words and recognition of Shane's bedroom, Castle reception areas, Spa and the Restaurant.

The Castle Restaurant team at the Castle dining room is moving to Snaffles Restaurant located in The Lodge from the New Year. Snaffles won the "Best Hotel Restaurant" in Ulster 2011 for its dining and food experience. The Food & Beverage Team are very excited with this new opportunity to enhance further the dining experience in Snaffles, which now becomes are main evening dining restaurant on the estate from 2012.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at Castle leslie for a wedding in October......oh my what a time. I wouldn't normally stay in such high standard establishments but thought we would treat ourselves. It was wonderful and magical. We stayed in Anita's room, I slept really well, beautiful bathroom and really really loved the decor. I was spoiled for breakfast...fresh berries, fresh juices, lots of cereal and fresh breads to pick from and oh the hot breakfast too. I don't eat meat nor do I drink milk but that wasn't a problem as all my needs were catered for. Thank you very much for a really truely magical stay. How will i ever experience such standards again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayden_sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us in The Castle at Castle Leslie Estate.

The team will be delighted to read your comments and praise, thank you again for your recognition of their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Castle Leslie Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
9.2 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
8.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
15.8 km away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
74 reviews
9.5 km away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
225 reviews
39.9 km away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Address: Castle Leslie Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price Range: $268 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin and 60 minutes from Belfast. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The two bedroom Old Stable Mews and four and five bedroom Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. Whether your idea of a holiday is a romantic retreat, a relaxing break or an action-packed adventure, there is something for everyone at Castle Leslie Estate. A host of activities are on offer including pike fishing for the nature enthusiast, a private cinema for movie buffs, exceptional walking trails for those who want to breathe in fresh country air, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting for the more adventurous, hot air balloon rides for those looking for exhilaration, falconry for those to experience nature up close, a fabulous spa for rejuvenation and of course the famous world-class equestrian centre which offers memorable horse riding holiday experiences for riding enthusiasts of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing