We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Vintage luxury with superior service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Leslie Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Leslie Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Certificate of Excellence
Ciarrigal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Vintage luxury with superior service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My stay at Castle Leslie left me promising to return. It was far too brief with just one night.
The castle and surrounds are breath taking. The ambience is vintage luxury. Each room is unique. No modern day distractions such as tv but wi-fi is available.

I arrived late in the evening. Checkin was very friendly and efficient. there are no lifts but the receptionist did show me to my room. I stayed in Norman's room which has a 4 poster bed and a view overlooking the garden. The room was just fab.

I was too late for bar food but I got a main course of pork belly in the dinning room. The service was superb, every staff member was attentive and friendly. my dinner was excellent, presentation, service, taste - a truly amazing main course. The menu was great, i found it difficult to make a decision as all the options looked so tempting.

Breakfast was incredible the next morning. The selection ranged from yogurts, frest fruit juices, followed by choices of full irish, pancakes etc. The presentation and service was fantastic.

After breakfast, I went for a walk on the grounds, stunning.

Although a brief stay I would thoroughly recommend it and will hopefully get an opportunity to enjoy a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: If you wish to use the treatment rooms, book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciarrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us in The Castle at Castle Leslie Estate.

The team will be delighted to read your comments and praise, thank you again for your recognition of their efforts.

We are heartened by your kind words and recognition of our restaurant dining experience for both dinner and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    184
    60
    38
    22
See reviews for
230
759
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed in the Lodge at Castle Leslie for an overnight escape in November. The rooms are luxurious and very comfortable, and overlooks the riding stables. Castle Leslie has wonderful groudns, unfortunately the weather meant we didn't get to explore a lot of it. We ate in Snaffles restaurant as the Castles dining room was not open that night. The food was good, not high cuisine but an acceptable standard. We went up to the castle on Saturday morning and it is beautifully maintained and well worth a visit. When we were checking out we had a query about the room rate and also our entitlement to a bottle of house wine. The room rate was clarified the following day. However, despite 3 e-mails, we are still waiting on clarification in relation to the wine. It is unfortunate that the customer service lets down the establishment, as it has everything else going for it. It has coloured our opinion about returning there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HenriettaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for taking the time to write your review, regarding your recent stay with us in The Lodge at Castle Leslie Estate.

Thank you, for your very kind comments regarding your guest bed room in The Lodge and our Castle and grounds. Our Accommodation and Maintenance/Gardening Team will be delighted to read your comments and praise of their continued hard work.

I am disappointed to read your comments in relation to your query regarding your wine, I understand that this matter is resolved and on behalf of the team, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Castle Leslie Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife: "When you're staying in a good hotel, you can relax, confident that you will have an enjoyable experience." This is Castle Leslie, tucked away on an Irish estate, just over the border from N Ireland. We stayed in one of the named rooms in the Lodge, overlooking the estate's riding stables. The room was very comfortable, warm -- as was the rest of the hotel -- on a cold, clear December weekend. Restaurant service is excellent, and food is perfectly prepared. The estate and small community around it, Glaslough, offer short and peaceful walks, past the castle itself, to the small lake beyond -- interludes around an exceptionally well organised wedding party, which took place in the castle, itself a superb venue for the occasion.

Room Tip: Take advice from staff ahead of visiting -- they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us in The Lodge at Castle Leslie Estate.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found your guestroom comfortable and relaxing.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our service and our cuisine.

We are delighted you took the opportunity to explore a small part of the estate on your visit. The Village of Glaslough which is on our door step is full of warmth and character; the local business owners offer a warm welcome and a neighborly chat.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Castle Leslie Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Caste Leslie is by far the most beautiful place I have ever stayed in. Fabulous unique bedrooms, top quality food, amazing service, picturesque grounds and fantastic spa facilities, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The dinner was one of the best Ive had in any restaurant, and the breakfast was delicious with a huge variety both in the buffet and cooked options. We were sad to hear the dining room in the castle will close in the New Year. We stayed in Shane's Room, which was really romantic with lovely views of the lake and grounds. The drawing room and library were so relaxing with the open fires and variety of newspapers and interesting books and quirky magazines. My only regret is that we didn't staying longer! Will definately return, top class hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room that you like on booking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us in The Castle at Castle Leslie Estate.

The team will be delighted to read your comments and praise, thank you again for your recognition of their efforts.

We are heartened by your kind words and recognition of Shane's bedroom, Castle reception areas, Spa and the Restaurant.

The Castle Restaurant team at the Castle dining room is moving to Snaffles Restaurant located in The Lodge from the New Year. Snaffles won the "Best Hotel Restaurant" in Ulster 2011 for its dining and food experience. The Food & Beverage Team are very excited with this new opportunity to enhance further the dining experience in Snaffles, which now becomes are main evening dining restaurant on the estate from 2012.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at Castle leslie for a wedding in October......oh my what a time. I wouldn't normally stay in such high standard establishments but thought we would treat ourselves. It was wonderful and magical. We stayed in Anita's room, I slept really well, beautiful bathroom and really really loved the decor. I was spoiled for breakfast...fresh berries, fresh juices, lots of cereal and fresh breads to pick from and oh the hot breakfast too. I don't eat meat nor do I drink milk but that wasn't a problem as all my needs were catered for. Thank you very much for a really truely magical stay. How will i ever experience such standards again!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayden_sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleLeslie, General Manager at Castle Leslie Estate, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Guest

My team and I would like to pass on our thanks and appreciation for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay with us in The Castle at Castle Leslie Estate.

The team will be delighted to read your comments and praise, thank you again for your recognition of their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again to discover more of the estate and its enchanting idyllic setting.

Kind Regards

Brian Baldwin
General Manager
Castle Leslie Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaslough
9.1 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
8.1 km away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
9.3 km away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
9.3 km away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
24.1 km away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Leslie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Leslie Estate

Property: Castle Leslie Estate
Address: Castle Leslie Glaslough Village | County Monaghan, Glaslough, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Glaslough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glaslough
Price range (per night): $257 - $289
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Leslie Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Leslie Estate, nestled on 1,000 acres of undulating Irish countryside, dotted with ancient woodland and glittering lakes, is one of the last great Irish Castle estates still in the hands of its founding family. Castle Estate is waiting to be discovered. Located in Co. Monaghan, Ireland, the Estate is only 80 minutes from Dublin. The Castle (20 individual guestroom), at the heart of the Estate, offers authentic original interiors and old-style hospitality and is a complete respite from the world. The Lodge (29 guestrooms) is the social hub of the Estate and brings locals and guests together in an atmosphere of conviviality and comfort. The Old Stable Mews and Village Cottages are the perfect spot for families and groups that want the convenience of hotel living combined with private luxury home rental. The Estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on horseback or foot. You can spend a few hours fishing on one of Ireland's best-preserved lakes. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a massage in the Victorian Treatment Rooms at the end of an activity packed day or relax with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides,falconry, kayaking, clay pigeon shooting, boating and picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Leslie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Leslie Estate Hotel Glaslough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing