We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveller rating
468
345
89
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
345
89
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seasons restaurant sister hotel sun terrace town centre four poster bed bar meals porridge a small car park lounge bar plenty of choice first floor stayed for nights without exception lovely hotel large bathroom breakfasts were excellent hotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 941 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018

back again after a 2 year break. Breakfast was good plenty of choice. We had picked a Balcony room with nice furniture but the balcony could do with lick of paint. Small problem the generator was with hearing distance from our room, it was noisy but switched off around 10.30. You have to walk along corridors, and on one occasion I missed the uplifted step of which there are many, and fell forwards stunning me and ending up with a damaged rib which I was in agony for a few days, still sore as yet,Check in staff were friendly Dining room staff of which I must mention Stanley was excellent full of information as to what was available. We had an early evening meal in the bar on one occasion, it was nice although too big a serving. We stayed 3 nights the only minus is it is a bit far from town centre.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of property
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

No need to book, just walked on in and sat at a table. Two roast dinners for under twenty quid! Plenty of meat, Yorkshire puds, plenty of veg in side dishes to split between the two of us. Only one choice of meat on offer every week, but when the lamb was as good as that it really didn't matter. Great budget meal. Thanks.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank karlknight967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Older couple staying B7B for 10 days, but using Seasons Restaurant or having a Barmeal on 7 of those days. Very helpful staff and comfortable room. I note other comments on noise, and i was not aware just how busy the crossroads was, on which the Hotel sist. Nothing they can do about that, but I would choose a room at the rear next time. Chef was accommodating with a gluten free diet but we did dine out on 3 occasions, not so much for a change but because the meals I would have liked that particular evening could clearly not be made gf. Breakfast were very good, really good choice and gf cereal.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank 500nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

A very good hotel to stay with a good bar serving nice food and a restaurant also, the room was excellent with doors leading onto a terrace with table and chairs, the room was very clean and comfortable, would I go again? yes definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

We are delighted that you would definitely choose to return to our Best Western Royal Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments. These comments are much valued by our team here at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

The staff were lovely. Four poster room was well equipped with tea coffee and biscuits. Snacks to buy nice touch. Robes and slippers complementary. The breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from and a beautiful varied fruit salad. Always my favourite. We ate Sunday lunch in the pub that was £10 lovely but not large if you like a big portion. (It was fine for us).

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank shelly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your kind comments, It is wonderful that you feel that you enjoyed a 'Grand time at the Royal.'

Robes and slippers are indeed standard items in all of our Suites, Balcony Patio and Executive categories of bedrooms.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our catering. Thank you again for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews