We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and comfortable”

St. Francis Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Francis Guest House
Ranked #16 of 21 St Helier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Jersey and our stay at the St. Francis. Our host was most attentive. A little far from the centre of town - we walked most of the time. On the night that we rented a car, the parking in front was very tight. That is probably a function of island life.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA94619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Very friendly host, nice dogs (bark a lot at night) small bathroom but usable, very nice comfy beds made up again while you're having breakfast, great Wi-Fi but a dodgy TV, would have liked a larger dining room with separate tables instead of one cramped one, nice English breakfast but would have liked more bacon, welcoming host who explains everything about the area, a few dusty areas but not at eye level, very family friendly but quite small, tea and coffee in rooms with little to no milk, bu lt overall a good guest house only about a 10 minute walk into town, would recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

SFGH is located on a cul-de-sac along a narrow lane. Cars and houses border both sides of the lane and this location gives SFGH an urban tone. (See photo) The view out our window wasn't beautiful, though we were not there for its beauty. More for the price and convenience.

Early on in our arrival, the proprietor of SFGH was keen to show us how to unlock the door, as you might notice, some Trip Advisor reviews made reference to difficulty in using front door key. We were okay with operating the lock.

Parking is very limited and you may need to do some tricky parallel parking.

The room was a three bedded ensuite on the first floor (2nd floor for USA readers). It was clean, well ventilated, and very comfortable for my two boys and I.

The breakfast, included in the price, was well done and served in a dining room around one large table with all other SFGH occupants.

If you want a clean, comfortable, hospitable, accommodation this will do. Getting into the city centre is a pleasant walk through an urban area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank drystonewalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

St. Francis Guest House is quiet in a small cul-de-sac area. It is around 15 minutes walk from the main shopping area. You can get the bus but these are not often. The room was clean and pleasant. It was refreshed everyday if you required it to be. The only issue is the room we had the shower was in view for your room partner to see all. This would be an issue if you were travelling with a friend etc. Roger the owner we only saw him once in our 6 night stay and that was on arrival. We did have to phone Roger to say that we had arriced and I found this a common occurrence as the guests who arrived after us had to do the same. He was very pleasant and helpful to us when we did get into the house. The lady he has helping in the mornings for breakfast it lovely and always smiling and pleasant. Breakfast is between half 8 and 9 so doesn't give you much of an option on when you can get up. Also if you are a shy person having breakfast round one table might not be the thing for you. I found it homely and was able to chat with the other guests. Breakfast was nice but not a big portion. The Portuguese bread was a favourite. Overall I had a lovely experience and would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Advice!!!! DO NOT STAY AT THIS GUEST HOUSE!!!!!
We travel all over the world for my daughter to compete or teach karate! In 11 years of doing this I've never felt so belittled. ROGER is not a nice man!
The hotel room was ok.
Bathroom had no frosting in the window.
Stale weetabix. My daughter did eat them out of politeness.
2nd morning we decided To gorse where.
On returning Sunday evening we couldn't get into the guest house.
The lock was a issue. We rang and rang no reply!!! When he eventually came to door he was so rude, I was to scared to speak
So we decided to leave and go else where! I asked for a refund for just Sunday night as we weren't there. He's declined it. Saying it was me with the issue not him as his reviews are amazing!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Karensamantha71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
0.7 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
798 reviews
0.7 km away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,269 reviews
5.1 km away
St. Magloire Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#1 of 2 in St. Ouen
249 reviews
4.2 km away
Seawold Guest House
Seawold Guest House
#1 of 2 in St Peter
131 reviews
1.5 km away
La Bonne Vie Guest House
La Bonne Vie Guest House
#4 of 21 in St Helier
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Guest House

Address: Trinity Road, St Helier JE2 4NQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St Helier
Price Range: $89 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. Francis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Guest House Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing