We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
420
142
31
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
142
31
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boot room the river dog friendly hotel lovely hotel dog towels white company toiletries castle drogo new owners junior suite cream tea a ground floor room monkfish excellent food country hotel comfortable lounge dining room afternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Mill End. We were celebrating my father's 80th. Excellent welcome on arrival. My father is disabled so they stayed in Avon which has a ramp. Lovely big room with a modern bathroom and lovely verandah. We were offered assistance with our bags and Avon has its own parking space. My husband and I stayed in Bovey which is on the first floor. Lovely room, shower took a lot of adjusting and the bathroom ceiling is desperate for a re-paint but otherwise the room was lovely.

We are in the restaurant the first night and the food was delicious, the lounges are very comfortable and the service can't be faulted. We had our table for the night and weren't rushed in any way.

Breakfast was wonderful. Lovely locally sourced ingredients and lots of choice. The young chap serving in the breakfast room was very attentive. My only complaint was the European girl who blatantly ignored me after I asked for sweetener, she bought me a tea strainer, I said no, sweetener, and she just shrugged and never came back. However, that was our only criticism.

This is a wonderful hotel for dogs too. The facilities for them are outstanding. There are beautiful grounds in this hotel too.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we shall return.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank forestgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

You are most welcome and we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We had a two night break at the Mill End and it was delightful. The room was superb, very clean, very comfy bed and our own private balcony.

The service was excellent throughout and every single member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful and courteous.

The location is fantastic - right next to the Teign river. Barely a few steps out of the hotel and you're on a beautiful riverside walk. You can go either South West towards Chagford, Fernworthy and Dartmoor or, North East towards Castle Drogo - perfect!

Breakfast was delicious on both mornings and the excellent 5-course tasting menu we had on the first night was without fault.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DorMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Mill End with our dog. We were in the junior suite Avon which is lovely as it has its own verandah with table and chairs and direct access to the garden, perfect for the dog! The room is very attractive and comfortable with tea etc making facilities. There is a walk in shower/wet room which is well appointed and supplied with top quality toiletries. An added bonus is the private parking space which is right outside the room. The food is varied and excellent. It is very easy to overindulge! There are great walks along the river to enjoy, with or without a dog. We have no hesitation in recommending Mill End and would visit again. We were extremely lucky that we were blessed with perfect weather with skies of unbelievable blue.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank somersetmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

A fabulous hotel staff very pleasant hotel setting peacfull and beautiful paid £20 extra on arrival to upgrade to suite 'The Wolf ' well worth exta even weather perfect ! Food very well cooked and presented also lovely walk along river to Chagford with a good choice of places to eat too ! Would highly recomend Mill End only mystery is why only 3 stars worth far more nothing to fault !

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jandbcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Mill End Hotel with our 2 dogs.
The hotel is very well located. We had a ground floor room with direct access to the garden which was great for the dogs.
The boot room was a great feature to clean the dogs after our walks. The hotel has easy access to some great walks.
The food served in the restaurant was very good. I would have liked a bit more choice especially when you stay 3 nights.
The service was very good with friendly staff.
Lots of space is available for parking.
Strongly recommend and will go back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank globaldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews