We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Bearslake Inn

Bearslake Inn
Ranked #11 of 67 Restaurants in Okehampton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Bearslake Inn, a traditional thatched pub with a renowned restaurant and quality accommodation in the stunning Dartmoor National Park. The Bearslake Inn and restaurant is situated in the hamlet of Lake in the North West corner of Dartmoor. Located between Okehampton and Tavistock on the A386, the Bearslake Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the delights of Dartmoor and Devon. We have six spacious en-suite letting rooms and plenty of parking. Just two miles south of the A30 it is easy to reach and yet is set in gloriously remote walking country, with stunning views to the rugged heights of the moor. The magnificent Sourton Tor, Corn Ridge and Great Links Tor are all just a walk away. The beautiful old thatched building, originally a Devon Longhouse, was a farm and farm cottages. The families of people who used to live and work here often visit and many of their photos hang in the hallways.
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Driving past and attracted by the thatched building dropped in for lunch.reception were and staff were very pleasant but the subsequent service slow.had to go back to reception and ask for a menu and how to order.
Her duck salad was excellent and her her fish burger was worth the wait.his prawn and salmon baquette disappointed swimming in mayonnaise.

Thank Lionel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Visited on a weekday evening and it didn’t seem that busy. Advised by the bar that there’s a 20 minute wait on food which was no problem for us. Sat in the garden and waited for 45 minutes before we went to chase up and the bar lady told us she would find out where our food was.

Waited another 15 mins (hour total) before the waitress came to tell us there was no tomato sauce for the kids pasta. Although our child was disappointed she agreed to settle for chicken goujons, which the waitress didn’t know was on the menu.

After waiting a further 15 minutes we were frustratingly brought the wrong meals and the other tables around us were also getting annoyed. Finally our food came out which the waitress advised was ham - we advised we had ordered duck and she said, oh it could be duck I don’t know! We also asked for sweet potato fries which we didn’t get.

Staff not knowledgable about the menu or the food and had we been informed the wait for food was an hour we wouldn’t have been so disappointed. I did feel sorry for the staff as the whole evening had obviously been a shambles.

Such a shame as the beer garden is gorgeous and the food was lovely when it finally came out. We won’t be returning.

3  Thank Deivis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa J, Owner at Bearslake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Deivis5

We are so sorry to hear your recent experience at the Bearslake Inn did not meet your expectations. We have just implemented a new menu and have a staff training day planned for this Monday coming, so we do take your feedback on board about the staff being unsure as to what was on the menu. We are also working very hard to ensure the food comes out in a timeley manner. I do hope you would give us another opportunity to try us.

With best wishes

Lisa and Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Had dinner here, the food was good. The dessert was great, we had the strawberry and white chocolate cheesecake and the watermelon cake. We had a problem with the cake but it was immediately dealt with in a friendly way. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Well worth a visit

Thank nico463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa J, Owner at Bearslake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Nic O

It was lovely to meet you botha and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of the Bearslake Inn. Enjoy Ed and we hope we will see you again soon.

Best wishes

Lisa, Julian and all the staff at the Bearslake Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Meal for 2 on Saturday 30th June. Staff were very friendly and polite to us but that is about where it ends.

It may have been a busy day but the weather forecast had indicated that for well over a week before. You cannot say you were unexpectedly busy because of the weather, there is no excuse. The comment was made that X was at home doing the accounts, sorry but on a busy Saturday night when you have groups booked in you need all hands on deck, there is no excuse.

Selecting the correct wine glass for a large glass of wine was relatively comical, it only just fits into a small/medium glass. Maybe this should have been the indication of what was to start.

Both (that is 100%) of our starters eventually came out incomplete, cold starter on a hot plate doesnt help. My burger could probably have been saved from cremation by coming out a lot earlier, I like my food and this is the first time I have not been able to eat the majority. I did comment but no goodwill offered at all. The wait was very very long, but we were kept up to date. We decided not to have desserts.

Considering we had a 3 course meal the night before at a lovely pub/restaurant up the road the night before the price here was very high for what you got (or dont). I can certainly see where all the younger staff have chosen to work and why.

The most frustrating bit, from a couple of hospitality people, was what was going on around. Very little proper communication between the staff, comments that annoyed other customers, the excuse that "we have recently taken over and have no record of your booking at that price" for one lady and her husband on a special weekend. Dont haggle about the price, honour it, dont have the debate with her in the bar with others around. These are fundamental issues that could have turned what was a poor start to the experience for that customer to a win/win.

We have been to the Bearslake for many many years with family, friends, bigger groups by car and soaking wet on foot. This was a totally shocking experience and needs a lot of positive reviewing for us to come back let alone recommend. As I said the staff were friendly and polite to us but there was nothing to make us want to go back.

5  Thank timrob1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa J, Owner at Bearslake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

We are sorry that your recent visit to the Bearslake Inn did not meet your expectations. As you will see from the recent reviews we have already instigated changes to the service and food. Unfortunately during any change of business ownership there will always be some glitches, however we did honour the original booking price we were just trying to understand what had gone wrong so it wouldn’t happen again. You are also correct that X was away from the pub working on the accounts, this is because X is disabled and contributes her skills to the business in the back office and administration and marketing side as she has limited mobility, so perhaps before making assumptions you should find out the true facts, as like all the other members of staff she works very hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We popped into the Bearslake Inn for Dinner and chose to sit on one of the tables out on the Patio overlooking the stream; what a stunning setting! On arrival, the lady behind the bar was so friendly and very eager to help with any questions we had about the menu. The levels of service from all staff we met were excellent. We selected the Fish pie and the lamb dish, both were absolutely delicious. All the ingredients tasted so fresh and were definitely homemade; a credit to the new chef. We will be definitely coming back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AngelinaHIbbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bearslake Inn also viewed

Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Whiddon Down, Okehampton
 
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Whiddon Down, Okehampton
 

Been to Bearslake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing