We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How on earth did this get a 4 star rating? It barely credits 1 star!”
Review of Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We paid £89 for bed and breakfast here. The "décor" of the bedroom was, well, to put it politely, "tired". It was clearly last decorated in the 1970s and probably last cleaned then too. It was evident that the two cats living there are permitted to wander wherever they wish judging by the cat hairs everywhere. The twin beds were extremely uncomfortable and dated to say the least. The "pillows" provided were as functional as 6 sheets of tissue paper. The bathroom was filthy and the grout and sealant around the bath and washbasin was infested with mould. Moreover, the shower did not work properly and we could not get ANY hot water to emerge from the shower head. Ultimately, we declined from using the shower, be it cold, in case we caught something. Breakfast was a fiasco. Our order was taken last, although we were the third couple to enter into the dining room and then we had to call over the person serving and taking the orders, who clearly could NOT be called a waiter. In addition, he was dressed in scruffy jeans and a t-shirt, not what I would expect in a hotel where I'm paying £89 for B & B at a discounted rate from £150 per night!!!!! The breakfast was very second rate and our clothes ended up smelling of frying fat as the kitchen clearly did not have an efficient enough extractor. How this place appears fully booked on Booking.com defeats me and why there does not appear to be a single complaint is beyond me. I wouldn't pay more than £40 a night for this. I'm not surprised Premier Inns are so successful judging by the standard of this "hotel". Don't go there!

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Morganbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2015

We travelled to Exmouth for our first ever Concert at the Exmouth Pavilion. We chose The Barn from the Internet. It looked to have character, as it dates from 1896. On phoning, the Lady I spoke to was very pleasant. She matched the Internet price. On arrival, the Lady turned out to be the owner. She immediately made us feel welcome. As it was quiet that night, she had given us an upgrade to a sea view. The view was wonderful out across the bay to Dawlish. The room was very good. It has the character of the house. Some people might not like it, preferring more modern furniture, etc.. There is a bath, no shower, but that was not a problem. We loved it and all the house. There is a piano in the lounge. The bar is an honesty one. You come and go as you please. Breakfast was excellent, as are the Staff. The Lady who owns it looked after us so well. We will definitely be staying there again. The area is quiet with good walks, especially along the seafront.

Room Tip: We had room 6, which has a wonderful view across the Bay. Make sure you book a sea view room if pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank w_avery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Beautiful listed building in shape of butterfly.

Stunning sea view from first floor bedroom.

Very comfortable king size bed. Sat up drinking coffee and watching fishing boats passing.

Friendly and unobtrusive owner and staff.

Peace and quiet, only faint sound of sea.

Good value for money.

Would come again.

Room Tip: First floor bedrooms have best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 102maturecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

we stayed just one night. The room was quite small, and the 4' 6" bed overpowered the room. Bathroom needed some serious TLC. Breakfast was quoted as starting at 8.00am, however although most of the visitors were seated, no staff arrived until 8.30.

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank coling650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

It's sad to see such a significant and beautiful Arts and Craft building so unsympathetically and tastelessly furnished. And unfortunately the basics in terms of maintenance and hotel service seem to have slipped away some time ago. So, I'm sorry to say that all comments in the Poor and Terrible reviews ring true. The building is a sleeping beauty, but I couldn't recommend a stay here - there's no heart, energy or interest and the place is dwindling into disrepair.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Manxamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.5 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
1.7 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1.5 km away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
736 reviews
1.8 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
3.6 km away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Hotel

Address: Foxholes Hill, Exmouth EX8 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $110 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barn Hotel Exmouth
Barn Hotel Devon/Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing