We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The George(South Molton)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jubilee Inn(South Molton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Castle Inn(South Molton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Blindwell Bunkhouse(South Molton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Down Farm(South Molton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Drewstone Farm(South Molton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
31
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivalhomemade sconesgreat hostsloungeanimalsdogs
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely hosts, delicious food, comfortable room - it's not some mega boring, bland hotel-type boutique flashy place. Animals seemed to be having a good time as well. If you've only a couple of days to spare, you'll have a relaxing time - if you're there longer, lucky you. Good value as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CritterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights over the new year. It's great that Fern Tor is doggy friendly as our little Jack Russell loves going away with us! We all enjoyed walking in the peaceful countryside. We had the ground floor room that has its own private entrance which was ideal for when our dog needed to go outside. The bed was really comfortable, the bath was nice and deep and the log fire in our private sitting room kept us warm and cosy.

The food was amazing - I highly recommend the pancakes for breakfast! Loved the tea and fresh scones on arrival. As a vegan and a vegetarian we wanted to give our custom to a veggie business. Cliff and Jane (the owners) were very friendly and helpful. We also loved visiting the various rescue animals and watching all the wildlife that can be found in the garden.

Overall we had the perfect stay and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JessicaCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying in the top floor master suite in July 2011.
The place is set out of the way- as much is around there! We loved the food and the owners were lovely- even treated us to vegan cream tea on arrival. The only reason I haven't given it a 5 on service is only because the meal times are restricted (you have to pre order your meal) so you have to make sure you are back for a certain time. Not that we minded because the food was gorgeous and you can't expect them to be cooking you up dinner when it's late!
The only reason I didn't give a 5 for location is because it is a tiny, tiny bit difficult to find ( if I remember), and you could hardly get signal on your phone. Otherwise the place is set in an idealic Devon countryside- on a piece of land with rescued farm animals. They are all so lovely and you can go see them up the garden.

Would love to stay here again (now we have a more powerful motor for the hills!) It's a real peaceful vegan paradise!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veenessar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for a week at Fern Tor during early September.

We had a lovely room with a small en suite sitting room with comfortable chairs and sofa, plus TV, just like being at home, which meant we could relax after dinner in a civilised way.

Fern Tor i very special and we made daily visits to the rescue animals outside. A paradise for watching birds and squirrels at close quarters too.

The vegan food is good and wholesome, nothing too fancy, a bit like eating good food at home. There is a fridge for use by the guests, so you can store cold drinks etc there. We kept our white wine and local food we had bought in it.

Jane and Cliff are very welcoming and friendly and we were made to feel very at home.

Fern Tor is out in the middle of "nowhere" so you can't walk to any local restaurants, but we chose to have our supper there most evenings anyway. A very enjoyable and friendly stay.

There is a great whole food shop in the nearby South Molton, which also does lunches.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanne_meyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Fern Tor is a beautiful b and b, clean, modern inside but with a traditional feel. We had the room with the en-suite lounge and the bed was massive! With lovely Faith In Nature smellies provided. The grounds are plentiful and we watched the birds feeding every morning from the dining room.
We chose Fern Tor as we wanted a veggie b&b where veggie food was the norm, rather than an optional extra, and we wern't disappointed! The breakfast had loads of choice and the standard was high. The evening meal was outstanding with huge portions, including home grown veggies. I had mains and pudding, my husband had 3 courses and we'd go back again if only to have another Fernbocker Glory- a must for all visitors!!! We also had homemade scones with homemade jam bought to our room on arrival, the scones were still warm and delicious :)

We didn't explore the grounds as the weather was a bit wet but would love to go back again. We loved it :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 827Gillian_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews