We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5* ”
Review of The Hartnoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hartnoll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tiverton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We drove into the hotel car park and was slightly disheartened when we saw the exterior of the main house was a little shabby with paint flaking off the wall and I unkept windows serving the non residential rooms.

The receptionist was pleasant and showed us to our room that was not in the main house but in the gate house, very close to the road.
We walked in and there was a strong smell of musty air freshener. A closer look found rising damp.

The room was modern but we did not want to stay in a damp smelling room.

This is a very old building and I understand that damp may occur, however this wasn't for us.

We popped back to reception and requested another room which was kindly allocated to us in the main house.
The room was nicely decorated with no damp smell. On first inspection it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

We ventured downstairs for a drink and went in the rear lounge area which was really very pleasant, the doors to the garden were open and we ventured into the garden and over the stream which was lovely.

We had drinks in the lounge then went back to the room to freshen up ready for dinner.

The bathroom is poorly laid out, a tiny shower facing straight on to the toilet. There was a nice size bath and jack and Jill sinks. The bathroom should have had a complete different layout, I would much prefer a larger shower and only one sink.

Dinner in the conservatory was really very good and the service from the very pleasant Portuguese waiter exceptional.
We had a lovely evening and throughly enjoyed the food.

The breakfast was a little slow but ok.

We were packing up our room putting towels in the bath for the cleaner..... TOE NAILS were left behind from another guest!!! The evening had been wonderful and this rating would have been a four if it was not for the unfortunate leaving of another humans toe nail clippings.

Attention to this sort of detail is essential!

I did not like the town of Tiverton so would not return. If passing I would certainly et here again.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Galleywench100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

not a fast food place and also not top fine dining however very good decor, very good menu good quality food at a good price not cheap and not dear good service and good quality surroundings , if you are in the area book a table in the conservatory and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nicholas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We called in this afternoon to see if we might be able to have a cream tea. We did see it advertised on the board outside but didn't know if it might of been too late in the day. The gentleman behind the bar could not of tried any harder he was exceptionally polite and helpful. We took our wonderful cream tea outside in the gardens which was very pleasant. The scones were large and there was plenty of cream and jam served alongside. Halfway through he asked if we would like anything else. He is a real credit to your team. We will return for a meal in the future for sure. Thank you so much, we loved it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FionaAke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartnollhotel21, General Manager at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear FionaAke

Thank you for your 5* review, we really appreciate it!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and that you were well looked after during your visit.

We look look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Wishes

Simon English

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

This is a really good hotel which is difficult to find fault with so I won't I stay here regularly and love the room decor and layout.

You will not be disappointed, the main asset of this Hotel are its staff. I have never in all my Travels seen such a group of people work so hard for each other as a team nothing is too much trouble and you are coaxed and cajoled into relaxing without noticing it happen

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Attended my parents' 60th wedding anniversary celebratory meal with friends and family. We were re in a private room off the conservatory which was lovely. Although there were 13 of us all choosing various dishes, the service wasn't slow and the staff were excellent and very professional, attentive but not intrusive, which made the evening run extremely smoothly. Food was absolutely delicious. I had the asparagus tips starter, gurnard as a main and the "to die for" chocolate dessert. All presented beautifully and I wasn't overfull at the end which is a great bonus. Thank you to staff concerned that evening which made it memorable for all who attended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TimNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiverton
2.4 km away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
9.8 km away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
182 reviews
22.7 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
10.7 km away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
222 reviews
5.1 km away
Stoodleigh Court Coach House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hartnoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hartnoll Hotel

Address: Bolham, Tiverton EX16 7RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tiverton
Price Range: $193 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hartnoll Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hartnoll Hotel is nestled on the edge of the Exmoor National Park, in the delightful Exe Valley in Devon. With stunning decor, sumptuous fabrics, plenty of space to relax, eat and drink and exemplary customer service, it is the perfect place to relax with friends and family or meet with colleagues Each of the Hartnoll Hotel's 18 superior double rooms offers elegance and comfort. Our comfortable and spacious bedroom's have en-suite bathroom facilities and are fully equipped to the highest modern standards. Many enjoy spectacular countryside views. Attention to detail is the key at the Hartnoll Hotel, with Egyptian cotton sheets, plush duvets, plump fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and luxurious toweling dressing gowns are perfect for an indulgent night of pampering. We offer a full breakfast with all our room rates, which can be taken in the conservatory, so you can sip freshly ground coffee in the warmth of Devon sunshine. Why not end your day with a glass of wine in the sitting room, where guests can sit back, relax and enjoy Devon hospitality at its best - Hartnoll style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hartnoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing