We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brambles Bed and Breakfast(Tiverton)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel Guest House(Tiverton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$69
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Tiverton(Tiverton)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Chestnut House(Tiverton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barton House(Stoodleigh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deepaller Farm(Tiverton)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
274
96
22
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
96
22
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelhead waiterwedding venuesunday lunchnational trustsmall hotelen routefeel very welcomeplenty of parkinglovely roomlittle gemwell worth a visitcream teabreakfast was excellentwarm welcomeconservatorynelson
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I have just stayed at this Hotel on a personal recommendation to find it an absolutely super typical English Country House Hotel. The Owner, Mrs Clair Carter, has recently completed a full refurbishment of all the bedrooms and public areas to a very high standard. The bedrooms have refitted bathrooms, plumbing, baths and showers of modern design in chromiumware. New very comfortable beds, TV, WiFi etc make for a very relaxing, restful atmosphere with central heating and excellent room service, if required. There are plans to build a Spa adjoing the building.

Under the leadership of Head Chef, Steve, a first class menu is available with lunches and dinners being served in a modern conservatory with attractive lighting. A well stocked Bar carries a full range of Drinks and Wines which would suit all tastes.

The Staff are particularly helpful with every wish to please and have a young, modern approach. Some foreign language is spoken.

Situated close to Exmoor, it is well suited for most Country pursuits including a number of high class Shoots around the area. Opposite Knighthayes Court, a well known National Trust Property, and just a few miles off the M5, it is readily accessable and easy to locate,.

A Hotel not to miss if you are travelling in the West Country

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I used this hotel as the venue for my wedding reception. It was a lovely place however had very poor customer service provided by the owner, who we found to be very rude. The wedding planning service that was provided also wasn't brilliant and caused us lots stress leading up to the day and also on the day itself.

The Atrium where we had our wedding breakfast was too hot to eat in and we had an awful problem with wasps flying around us - one actually stung my new mother in-law.

We also weren't supplied with the chocolates,flowers and champagne that had been paid for, we are still currently waiting for a refund from the hotel for this - who have failed to respond to our request..

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HJC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Arrived on a very wet day absolutely soaked. (Cycling tour). The lady of the house took all our gear and washed/dried ready for the next morning in exchange for a donation to her fave charity. All this on a V friendly informal basis. The rooms/bathrooms superb and the service throughout fantastic. As always there were small problems generally caused by such a large group arriving and eating en masse, but resolved quickly and efficiently by the boss.
Every small hotel owner in the UK should stay here for a lesson in how it's done.

Well Done Claire

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithMGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at the Hartnoll this past weekend for one night as we were in the area for a christening and birthday party in Tiverton. Well placed as it was about 10 mins drive to our friend's house on the other side of Tiverton.
Greeted on arrival by owner Claire and her little dog who was a big hit with our 2 year old son. Room was clean and comfortable. Plain white bed linen and comfortable bed. Mirrored deco style wardrobes and chest of drawers etc. It was a standard double room at the back of the hotel (room 6) but there was plenty of room for the extra bed for our son and they put a travel cot in for our baby as we realised en route that we had forgotten ours. Big plasma tv on wall which was good for watching Cbeebies in bed with our son in the morning. No bath, just a wetroom with big open shower. Not a problem for us as we had been swimming at the party so our son had already had a bath. Tea and coffee facilities in room which is always welcome. We had a drink in the bar and they had a good wine list. Breakfast was included in room rate and was in the conservatory- good choice of cooked breakfasts plus cereals and fruit, juice etc- all nicely done and a lovely bright room to eat in overlooking garden. There was also a big sitting room with books and sofas etc. Plenty of parking too. We went to Dunster Castle and Exmoor the next day and it was well placed for that too. All in all an enjoyable hassle free stay in a beautifully refurbished boutique-style hotel and fantastic value compared to a chain hotel. We would definitely stay again if in the area and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed 2 nights in the executive mini-suite for my wife's 50th and could not have asked for a more comfortable and relaxing overall experience. Tastefully and imaginatively decorated the room had high ceilings, was very spacious and offered luxury standards in bedding (quote from my wife: the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in) quality linen (lovely large bath sheets, bathrobes) and styling (twin sinks, shower/bath with large powerful head) and furnishing to include chaise longue, armchairs, flat screen wall mounted TV etc.

The Restaurant lived up to its gourmet claims with fantastic presentation, fine wines, timely and very pleasant staff and all for a remarkably reasonable price.

Will definetely visit again and would recommend to anyone who wants a traditional hotel without spa, swimming pool...and noisy kids!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartnoll, Public Relations Manager at The Hartnoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we are planning a spa for 2011 so maybe you can come back and try some of our relaxing treatments next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews