We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Ilchester Arms Hotel(Abbotsbury)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Abbey House(Abbotsbury)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Upalong(Abbotsbury)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
26
10
7
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
10
7
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking farmhome from homehome madecar parkchickensfarmyardvillagepubsgardenflowers
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Easy to find and off street parking is a good start, and was greeted cordially by Wendy's daughter,shown to our room and being disabled I had a bit of trouble getting up the stairs which went back in time due to it being a farm type long house packed to the rafters with a huge amount of collectibles going back centuries.Fantastic room fully carpeted with a large shower and all the usual mod cons.Lovely comfortable bed in PINK but did not care as I slept like a log! The pub was just around the corner and served a very nice meal after which we watched a bit of the skittles match, such fun and skill. Breakfast was when we met Wendy and she was a very fine host, cereal followed by a full english with duck eggs no less! I hope I have not ruined my chances of returning by giving this review due to being fully booked! I will return !

Room Tip: Any room is a good room !
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ste S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Myself and a friend stayed here for one night last week on our way back to London after a road trip around Cornwall. This B&B is very central to the adorable village of Abbotsbury and well located for exploring the nearby coastline.

The property itself appears lovely and charming from the exterior but is quite disappointing inside. Cluttered beyond belief with dolls and knickknacks crammed in every available space. I had read reviews that this place was quirky but I found it more disturbing than quirky. No matter where you go, there are dolls staring at you...old dusty ones with cob webs all over them at that! The breakfast room is so overcrowded with stuffed animals and dolls that it reeks of dust and filth. Certainly not a place you want to sit down for a meal.

Our room was stuffy and dressed with just as much clutter and cobwebs as elsewhere in the house and the bathroom was tiny and complete with mold and dirty wall to wall carpet.

Wendy, the hostess, seems like a lovely lady but her B&B needs a serious overhaul! Also the wifi signal is poor. I would not return to this property.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We received a warm welcome on our arrival. The property has lots of local character. Yes, it's highly decorated with ornaments, dolls, and the like, but in my opinion it adds to the charm of the place. It's in a very quiet and peaceful location but very close to the coast and only about a 30-35 minute drive from Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove. The hostess, Wendy, was very friendly and welcoming. We would stay here again if we ever come back this way.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

The rooms are in a quaint old farmhouse crammed with antiques, bric-a-brac and knickknacks. Rooms are colour-themed and our Rose room had twee and ancient pink stuff on every wall and surface - lamps with lacy shades, glassware and ornaments, imitation flowers; even the liquid soap and shampoo were pink. Barbara Cartland might have loved it but not to our taste. No room to swing even a pink cat or put down a suitcase. Bathroom poky and tiny shower, noisy macerator to extract waste. Breakfast was fine, enhanced by the option of a duck egg from the farm.

Sorry, but this timewarp of 1970s cries out for modernisation and is overpriced. It's a lovely building and would make a fabulous B&B with new decor and modern fittings

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Warm welcome and family run B&B. The house is obviously cared for and so loved. A safe and interesting place. If you like clean lines and no clutter then this is NOT the place for you. If you like lots of local history, dolls & ornaments and a family home and a great welcome then this is a great place for you.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank 123JudeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews