We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Unmissable if you want to find fossils!

My family booked Martin for a training session on how to find fossils. It was superb! Very... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Explorer15815401047
via mobile
The guided tour is a must!

Martin was an excellent guide. He kept our family totally engaged the whole time (age range of 8... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
TheMrsS12
Read all 196 reviews
  
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
195
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
195
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great guide training session fossil hunt fossil walk jurassic coast wonderful morning his enthusiasm different types late booking beach safety knew exactly where dad jokes kids aged charmouth beach short space of time great with kids stay safe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Martin is a very knowledgeable and experienced guide. He tried to make fun for children. Without his guide, it was impossible for our fossil hunting. We are very sarisfied with the tour!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank kyokonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinC6325, Owner at Jurassic Coast Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Hi Kyoko,
Thank you for your kind review... it was great to meet you all!
It was a great walk and you all really put your new fossil hunting training to good use on the beach.
Good luck with any future fossil hunting adventures.
Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2021

It was a very early morning start but absolutely worth it. We picked a perfect day for it and the whole experience for myself and my 12 yr old son was brilliant from start to finish. Lots of helpful info to begin with explained in a really clear way. Even though we were itching to get out there, it was absolutely worth sitting and taking it all in before we headed off as we found lots of great things scaling the beach as a result of his tips. Martin is engaging guide and a great teacher for kids of all ages, thus easy to spend 3 hours with. I would definitely recommend booking in with him if you are on a break in the area with fossil hunting in mind as you might stand a better chance of going home with something! To those who might mention price - easy - take the maximum 6!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank 998kirbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinC6325, Owner at Jurassic Coast Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Hi Kirby,
Thank you for your kind review... it was great to meet you!
Great to see you so active on other fossil hunting pages, remember you're all 'pro' fossil hunters now... the beach is your oyster!
Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021 via mobile

It’s not cheap, but worth every penny! Martin is extremely knowledgeable and a great teacher too. Without this session we would have been looking in completely the wrong places!

After a hour’s briefing, Martin had armed us with a simple and memorable way to focus on the shapes, textures and colours of the most common fossils to be found on the Jurassic Coast. He also made sure we understood the dangers (crumbling cliffs and incoming tides) and how to stay safe on the beach. A couple of hours on the beach and we had found several belemnites, a few ammonites and crinoids. After Martin left us, we continued and found some lovely examples for ourselves.

I’d wholeheartedly recommend investing in a guided fossil walk with Martin - putting the theory into practice and finding a piece of history for yourself is so rewarding.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank andyg510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinC6325, Owner at Jurassic Coast Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Hi Andy, thank you for your review!
It was great to meet you both, I really enjoyed our time on the beach.
Good luck with any future fossil hunting adventures.
Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021

We met with Martin on the beach on a sunny and windy morning. The UK had just started lifting restrictions and Martin was very thoughtful about following the necessary precautions. He is very knowledgeable and helped us feel like pros by building on our secondary school memories. And he's funny too! We had a great time and found some beautiful finds for our home. On the beach, Martin even showed us a few stones that he could crack open with some hidden treasures. This is a great experience to enjoy at any age (kids would have a great time too) and I would absolutely recommend Martin for your fossil walk.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank shannadonhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinC6325, Owner at Jurassic Coast Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Hi Shanna,
Thank you for your kind review... it's great to hear you appreciated the covid measures that I have in place.
Good luck with any future fossil hunting trips.
Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

Had a private training session with Martin and we can say with 100 percent certainty there is no way we could have found any ‘Bobs’ or ‘Geoffs’ without his knowledge. He made it very easy for us to remember a number of different types of fossil & we are pleased to report we had a great morning finding some at Charmouth beach. We can now call ourselves professional fossil hunters! If you are looking to go fossil hunting and don’t know where to start, this is a must do! Thank you!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank LAURA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinC6325, Owner at Jurassic Coast Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Hi Laura,
Thank you for your kind review... I can only apologise for the jokes!
Hopefully, see you on the beach soon.
Kind regards
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews