We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
One of my top 5 houses

We had an amazing time here even though the house was only partially open. This house is now in my... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Black2927
via mobile
A French chateau in Dorset

Upon arrival, parking was plentiful,due to covid restrictions you must register a time of entry to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
coopergirl2016
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Read all 1,831 reviews
  
Reviews (1,831)
Filter reviews
1,831 results
Traveller rating
1,121
481
129
50
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,121
481
129
50
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden the kitchen national trust woodland walk beautiful house formal gardens bankes family nt properties visit kingston corfe castle egyptian room art collection extensive grounds well worth a visit stately home lovely grounds cake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,831 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pre-booked a time slot on the National Trust Kingston Lacy website and enjoyed a couple of hours walking in the grounds today. With pre-booking, the grounds are not mobbed, the car park had plenty of parking and the crowds were manageable - shame it cannot stay like this.

The flower beds and lawns are well maintained and very photogenic at the moment. The trails on the estate are a peaceful escape, complete with bird song. A wonderful estate and must be seen while visiting Wimborne.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank MrsWYN-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Occupying a fantastic setting, Kingston Lacy is a must see property, especially if you are a NT member. (Like most NT properties it is expensive if you are not a member).

If you want to see inside the house you need a timed ticket which can be obtained from the house entrance. And it is this that lets this property down at the moment. We visited another NT property (Petworth) recently and the timed system worked perfectly. But not here.

As another reviewer has said, the rooms are quite small, poorly lit and poorly ventilated. Despite a timed ticket system, they let too many people in on one time slot. This creates congestion because there are no laminated sheet hand-outs anymore just one A3 size board to read in each room. And while people stop and read the boards, other people wait to read it and congestion just builds and builds. I hope the powers that be at this property adapt this system because during a 3rd wave of Covid it simply doesn't work and is not acceptable.

Indeed, as we are all scanning Test and Trace QR codes at the moment, why doesn't the NT simply put a QR code in each room that people can scan and read more about the room/property on their own phones.

However, the outside of Kingston Lacey is absolutely fantastic. The gardens, the way the house sits in the landscape, how it looks imposing yet beautiful in equal measure, the flowers, the borders, the woodland walk are all spectacular. It is the outside and gorgeous grounds that sets this property apart and make it well worth a visit.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank now_i_wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gardens are fantastic, and the woodland walk is a peaceful way to spend an hour away from crowds. Didn't get in the house because of COVID but the gardens made up for that on a hot, sunny day.
One word of warning if you go to the far area across the road don't expect any shade and a long walk to the toilets. Also the refreshments are actually from a stall, not a cafe. Better to use the facilities in the stable yard.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank AndrewGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful house and gardens, well worth booking I'm advance especially with covid at the moment. The flowers were lovely and the inside the house is a must to see. I would recommend heading to the house first to book a slot to look inside the house with current restrictions it's recommended by the staff there. The paintings are beautiful especially. It's dog friendly, apart from you can't take them inside the house or into the formal gardens. There are lots of lovely flowers in the formal gardens. The only downside I would say is that there is a lack of signs telling you how to find the Japanese gardens and the tea gardens. It's well worth getting a national trust membership as this is quite costly, plus if you are on holiday here it works out cheaper as its a one off fee for the year if you pay annually. WiFi signal is very poor here though.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2021 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed visiting this sumptuous National Trust estate this morning. We received our customary warm and informative greeting at the entrance. We only wanted to visit the gardens and the grounds rather than the house so there was no need to collect a timed entry ticket. The gardens are beautifully maintained, most notably the fernery, the Japanese tea garden and the kitchen garden. There are so many places to enjoy a rest and to appreciate the views with the ample seating opportunities in the gardens. We also walked the 3 mile long woodland / nature trail around the estate. Great to see so many activities to appeal to younger visitors. As always with National Trust properties, full Covid precautions are in place in respect of using the restrooms and the catering facilities.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Owen_thesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews