We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irene ”

The Green Man -Wimborne
Ranked #19 of 110 Restaurants in Wimborne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Description: Traditional pub food, real ales and a full range of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. Pub food served daily from 10am to 4pm. Sunday roasts served from midday to 4pm. Full english breakfasts, main meals, daily specials and light bites. Car park, outdoor seating, games room and real log fire. Child and dog friendly.
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional pub food, real ales and a full range of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. Pub food served daily from 10am to 4pm. Sunday roasts served from midday to 4pm. Full english breakfasts, main meals, daily specials and light bites. Car park, outdoor seating, games room and real log fire. Child and dog friendly.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Spotted this pub whilst driving around Wimborne Dorset .Stopped for a meal. Homemade Spaghetti Bolognese. Very nice. Friendly welcoming venue .would go again when around that way

Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Owner at The Green Man -Wimborne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi Irene, many thanks for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your spaghetti, all our food is home cooked and we change our specials board regularly. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

We've eaten at the Green Man a few times, so when we saw they were putting on a Chicken & Rib night, we booked straight away.

Glad we did - lovely, fresh cooked food. The chicken was moist, and plenty of it (possibly too much!). Ribs were perfectly cooked. Freshly made coleslaw was delicious, wedges were chunky, and the finger bowl was definitely needed after consuming all of that! Lovely garden salad on the side, which was unfortunately mostly left due to the large selection of meat on offer! Oh and corn on the cob as well...

Highly recommend trying one of the food nights, which are great value - every last Wednesday of the month!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Owner at The Green Man -Wimborne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi Jo, many thanks for your comments and we are glad to hear (and see) that you have returned and are still enjoying our food theme nights. As you mentioned they are the last Wednesday of every month and the next one is Steak night on 25th July. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Lovely food and very accomodating to all our guests. Can't fault the service and the lovely food. Great value for money too.

Been recently for the folk festival and watched a band in the car-park. It was brill, such a good atmosphere.

Don't think people know it is there, but would certainly recommend to give it a try.
Small but quaint.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GirlsonVacation27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Owner at The Green Man -Wimborne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Many thanks for your comments and we glad you enjoyed your time with us and during Folk Festival. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Small,country style pub in a country town,good selection of beers,small outside seating area,staff friendly,it hosts various events throughout the year,worth a visit if your in the area.

Thank peterwebb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Owner at The Green Man -Wimborne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Many thanks for your comments and we hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The Green Man is a little gem of a pub just a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of the main centre of Wimborne Square. In a town where parking is at a premium it has the advantage of it's own car park.
My wife and I had the all day brunch with myself having the vegetarian option. The food was excellent, if I had any negative comment about it there was probably a little to much so perfect for people with large appetites. It was cooked to perfection though so we will definitely be going back to try other options from the menu.
Our dog was made to fell very welcome and was given a 'doggie' treat and a bowl of
water.
We noticed there was a games room and live entertainment so plenty to keep visitors happy as well as the food.
I have mentioned cleanliness in other reviews so I couldn't finish this one without saying something about the cutlery at The Green Man. I've eating in some fairly spectacular places including The Ritz in London and I've never seen cutlery as clean and sparkly as those we were given in this modest little Wimborne pub.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barberside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine T, Owner at The Green Man -Wimborne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Many thanks for your comments and we are so glad you and your dog enjoyed your visit to us. We do hope we will see you all again in the future and you are more than welcome to ask for a smaller appetite portion next time, if you so wished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man -Wimborne also viewed

 

Been to The Green Man -Wimborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing