We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime filler”

The Anstruther Boathouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Anstruther
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Anstruther Boathouse is a popular, vibrant pub and restaurant with and amazing outdoor beer and dining area-covered and cosy in the winter and wall to wall sunshine in the summer.. The bar is family and dog-friendly serving an excellent range of real ales, lagers, ciders, wines, spirits, soft drinks, and outstanding coffee and tea. Our food ranges from cakes and scones and light lunches to classic pub food and the most amazing fish and chips and takeaway food and drinks. Your visit would not be complete without tasting our sensational Boathouse Chowder or our famous Boathouse Burgers. As a popular event venue, we host live music -check it out on Youtube -you won't be disappointed! We also host The Big Boathouse Quiz Nights and 'Wine Time'- wine tasting nights. Check our website for our events and offers. You will be having such a good time at The Anstruther Boathouse that you will want to stay so we offer excellent accommodation coupled with a hearty breakfast. See you soon?
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

We were served by the wonderful Kirsty who made us feel welcome. The steak pie with chips and veg was very nice. The steak pieces were tender and a tasty gravy made trying this was well worth it. The other main we tried was the deluxe fish cakes, smoked fish and salmon was the cake filling, served with side salad and two main dip sauces of sweet chilli and the other horseradish / tartar sauce. The salad didn't look well presented and didn't appeal appetising unfortunately. Sticky toffee and ice cream for pudding was nice. Server was attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. Would use this restaurant / cafe again.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank stuarts677
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was lovely with nice little extra touches like bottled water in the fridge. The staff were great - Sam was particularly helpful but all the staff were friendly and helpful. The Wi-fi in the room wasn’t great but wasn’t a deal breaker. Breakfast isn’t served but there was porridge, yoghurts and fruit in the room and good restaurants nearby. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay with trips to St Andrew’s and the Isle of May and lovely walks along the Fife coastal path. Food in the Boathouse and the nearby Waterfront restaurants was fantastic - the fish is amazing and there is a famous fish and chips shop along the street.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 713Deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

We really enjoyed our stay here and Fraser and the team made it fantastic. Brilliant food and fabulous cocktails. The room was big and exceptionally clean. Our room had private access to the beer garden which was a plus too! We look forward to staying again in future as they looked after us so well.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank kara2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

We went in the evening. The food was fabulous and the servers, Tammy and Sam were excellent, nothing was too much bother

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank HETurn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

Welcoming ,friendly staff. Decent menu,good food, reasonably priced. Very busy day in Anstruther. Owner was very helpful in pairing two tables to accommodate our party

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Anstruther Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to The Anstruther Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.