We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable experience”

The Anstruther Boathouse
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Anstruther
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Anstruther Boathouse is a popular, vibrant pub and restaurant with and amazing outdoor beer and dining area-covered and cosy in the winter and wall to wall sunshine in the summer.. The bar is family and dog-friendly serving an excellent range of real ales, lagers, ciders, wines, spirits, soft drinks, and outstanding coffee and tea. Our food ranges from cakes and scones and light lunches to classic pub food and the most amazing fish and chips and takeaway food and drinks. Your visit would not be complete without tasting our sensational Boathouse Chowder or our famous Boathouse Burgers. As a popular event venue, we host live music -check it out on Youtube -you won't be disappointed! We also host The Big Boathouse Quiz Nights and 'Wine Time'- wine tasting nights. Check our website for our events and offers. You will be having such a good time at The Anstruther Boathouse that you will want to stay so we offer excellent accommodation coupled with a hearty breakfast. See you soon?
Reviewed 7 October 2021

Food varies in quality.
Fish courses really good and when right chef on Quality is excellent. Staff are excellent and friendly. Good service and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

I bought a bottle of pilgrims gin from here on thursday. 'I'll just see if we have some in the back,' she says. Comes back with bottle in hand. 'Have a seat and finish your drink snd i'll wrap it and the two glasses and bring it through to you.'
Last night I opened the bag and was most annoyed to find not only had the bottle been opened but there was some out of it! Not pleased with your underhand tactics young lady! I can't come back with it as we live 200 miles away.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda T, Owner at The Anstruther Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Kathryn, Please call and leave your details with staff. Ask for the details to be passed to Fraser. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2021

We were excited to visit as heard good reviews bit we were so disappointed to find a grotty restaurant with no covid precautions. My fish was nice but there were no vegetables with it and my husband had poor quality scampi and soggy chips. The menus were on grotty paper too. The sticky toffee pudding didn't resemble anything like it should and the ice cream was synthetic. Really disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank 761angelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

Decent food here and great service. We really enjoyed our meal meal and it was really reasonable . You must have the seafood chowder . For a starter or a main it is a must !!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Dreamer33429438643
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2021

Visited during Harbour Festival celebrations. Despite the restaurant being busy, our waitress Katie was super friendly and really helpful. Generous portion sizes, delicious cakes.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 465josw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Anstruther Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to The Anstruther Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.