We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stromness Hotel(Stromness)
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ayre Hotel(Kirkwall)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkwall Hotel(Kirkwall)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Albert Hotel(Kirkwall)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West End Hotel(Kirkwall)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sands Hotel(Burray Village)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
58
38
11
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
38
11
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskara braesteakevening mealroom was cleanlovely staffcrab chowderwarm welcomelocal produceboth nightsyoung staffplenty of parkingfriendly servicevaried menusmall townlovely foodpopular with the localsbreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

If you are a coeliac this is the place to stay on Orkney. Delicious food with the emphasis on glutenfree. Accommodation is also of a high standard with excellent service from a young enthusiastic staff. Free parking and WiFi makes this an excellent location to visit Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar and the surroung area. easy drive to Kirkwall and stromness.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 8
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Central location on West Mainland, this offers both a café lunchtime menu and an evening menu. We called at lunchtime on our way between ferries. It was a rainy day, but the atmosphere welcoming in a sun lounge addition on the front of the hotel. The lunchtime menu is more limited, but is good. I had a take on spaghetti bolognaise with linguine and local produce. Took a couple of pieces of cake away for later - unfortunately they were a little dry.

Was doing good business and is obviously popular with the locals. Serves up to 3pm with last food orders at 2.30, then starts evening meals from 5pm in the main restaurant. Plenty of parking round the back and some on road parking out the front and across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and had a great time. The hotel is friendly and room was clean and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities. The bar run by Christy was friendly, comfy and well stocked. We ate both evenings in the restaurant and again staff especially Gareth very friendly and attentive. The food was tasty, there was plenty of it and it was a good price.
Breakfast was included in the price and again plenty of it and set us up for the day. Plenty of parking at the hotel and a co-op and petrol right across the road with a cashpoint.
Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My friend and I stopped in for lunch as we were following the craft trail to a local jewelry shop. We sat in the enclosed porch for a delicious lunch of fish and chips. The service was friendly and the battered fish was out of this world fresh and good accompanied by a nice salad. Its right on the road between Skara Brae and Kirkwall so easy to find and get to.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ruth Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The hotel is well located close to Skara Brae and the Ring of Brodgar and in a small town with a supermarket and petrol station. The room was quiet, warm and comfortable and the bed was very comfortable. You pre-order breakfast day-to-day or more, to suit you and there's a good range to pick from. We really liked the food too, we ate dinner in the hotel every evening, enjoying the well-thought-through veggie options, as well as the fish dishes (we don't eat meat but assume they do that well too). They had a good selection of wines. All in all a very pleasant stay, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelACox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews