We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burnside Farm(Stromness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asgard B&B(Stromness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stromness Hotel(Stromness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
24
5
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
5
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was a horrible experience for my husband and I. We traveled 5 weeks thru France and Scotland on the cheap...this hits our top 3 list of places NOT worth going cheap! I still have over 10 bug bites 2 weeks after our stay, the bathroom was filthy, you have to pay to heat your room, the drier didn't dry our clothes and despite multiple confirmations on a date and time to meet the host...they forgot about us and we sat waiting on the street for someone to show up. We managed to track down a phone (we didn't have one since we're from the USA) and called; they gave us the entry code and the number of our room. We never saw the host. We loved Stromness and the Orkney Islands but we'll seek out a more enjoyable experience when we go back in two years.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlotteAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamnavoeOrkney, Owner at Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Firstly we must apologise for not meeting this guest on arrival, this was indeed entirely our fault and was down to an error in our records. As we are at the hostel several times daily we did try to catch these guests but were not able to. We can only offer our sincere apologies for being such poor hosts.

We have found this review very difficult to comprehend for a number of reasons, we are extremely proud of the standard of cleanliness in the hostel, indeed this is usually the first thing that is commented on by our guests. This visitor has chosen to take photos of the hostel, obviously for one purpose. The photo of the bathroom in no way shows a dirty room, it merely shows the colour of the wall and floor covering which is beige and brown. The bathroom is steam cleaned after each guest leaves and we will absolutely refute any allegation of lack of cleanliness.

The photos showing clothes hanging in a variety of locations were puzzling, our tumble drier does dry all laundry and this is the first time we have heard such a complaint. Not only that but we have clothes airers available in the laundry room that guests can make use of if necessary.

Heating in bedrooms is payable through a coin meter, this is to meet rising fuel costs. However, as all of the common rooms and hallways are heated by us, guests rarely have to pay for the heating as the rooms are very warm. It should be noted that many hostels charge for shower use, linen/towels etc, we do not.

The picture showing the rear of the hostel is far from flattering, but the aesthetics of the building cannot be changed, they are no way indicitave of the interior.

One comment that we absolutely refute 100% is the allegation of bed bug bites. Our mattrasses are steam cleaned twice a year, we have mattrass protectors on all beds and linen is cleaned in a sanitary wash in an industrial machine. These guests state themselves they have stayed in several "cheap" locations over a period of time, so to try to blame us for their bites is not only extremely libelous, but is unfair and could cause untold damage to our livelihood, obviously something the writer gives no consideration to.

We would absolutely apologise for these guests being left to wait while trying to contact us, we were at fault and this is something that will not happen again, but we would urge readers to consider the several fantastic reviews that make comment on our cleanliness and on how we treat our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed 2 nights in the Hamnavoe Hostel. The hostel is how every hostel should be - cheap, clean and comfortable! Bedding and towels are provided, the kitchen is stocked with tea, coffee, sugar and other various items. The bathrooms are very close to the bedrooms. The owner, George, was very accommodating when it came to my check-in and check-out times and he helpfully suggested places and sites to visit. The hostel is about a 5 minute walk from the Stromness Ferry terminal, and there is a Co-operative convenience store also about 2-4 minutes walk in the other direction. There is a bus stop at the Ferry terminal, or a bit further along (5 minute walk) from the hostel. From here the buses go to Kirkwall and I believe up to Skara Brae.
All in all the Hamnavoe Hostel was the perfect base for my diving trip to Scapa Flow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolDudes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed several nights in the Hamnavoe Hostel while travelling around Orkney, and I would certainly go back there if given the chance! George was absolutely brilliant and made it very easy to arrange a booking, check in, and find my way around. The hostel itself was clean and spacious, with very nice rooms and a large, well-kept kitchen. Just down the road a bit from the ferry terminal, this is an excellent base for exploring Stromness and the surrounding area, and comes at a great value. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Stromness!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fireontheriver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment on the ground floor.
As a family of four, it gave us cheap accommodation for the week, with 2 year old in a cot, and 6 year old on the sofa. They provided the extra bedding required.
This is not the place to go to sit outside and survey the unspoilt Orcadian countryside. It sits in front of the ferry terminal, and is a 2 minute walk to the town centre and to the local supermarket.
Lots to see and do within walking distance, and a great base to see the whole of Orkney mainland, and nearby Hoy.
Only downside was that some of the storage furniture was not too robust. Drawer bottoms fell out etc, but that's it.
The owner gave us all the information about things to do we could possibly devour, with plenty of local hints and tips.
If we're staying in Stromness again, we'll stay here.

Room Tip: don't get the first floor apartment with young children - stick to the ground floor
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

If you like meeting people as part of your holiday experience then Stromness is a good choice of town and the Hamnavoe Hostel in the centre of Stromness is a good choice of residence. It's a sparklingly bright, clean, white hostel overlooking the sea with a very relaxed atmosphere and low costs. Stromness itself was the home of George Mackay Brown, a very gifted writer and poet. It has a modern and interesting Art Gallery, convivial bars with a good chance of being entertained by local musicians, and friendly people who say hello to you and give you a smile and a nice sense of being visible! Certainly a place I'd go back to.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennethleitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews