We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views of battery through huge locked gates.”
Review of Ness Battery

Ness Battery
Ranked #10 of 26 things to do in Stromness
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ness Battery is accessible by guided tour only. Please call for details. Tours available all year round - times of tours on our website. Extra tours running at other times too - call for latest times. Please note - it is not a visitor centre or museum around which the public can visit unaccompanied.. yet! It is not safe for unsupervised access, so please call to arrange a tour with a qualified tourist guide.
Reviewed 27 November 2017

This was a waste of our time and so much for Scapa Flow Trail. After speaking to the local tourist office in Kirkwall they said we can go anytime and they will be open. We have a real interest in military history and unfortunately this was a real let down.

Shall not be back, plenty of other places to visit in the town that are accessible.

If you have a good camera you can take a pic through gates or from gunview point outside the town.

4  Thank WendT3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Ness Battery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I have no idea what you refer to as ‘Scapa Flow Trail’. Nothing I’ve been part of and never heard of it.
The information on the website, Facebook, Twitter, sign on the gate, tour times listed on board at car park below Battey, leaflet etc etc are all quite clear. Access is by guided tour at advertised times only, which are available on the aforementioned, also on answer message if you call 07759 857298 as described on website and TripAdvisor.
Not my fault you’ve ignored all that and relied on inaccurate information from the tourist office. Maybe it was a new member of staff - generally, they pass on the right info and are helpful and keep in touch with me to check tour times.
Just another hasty and unnecessary bad review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mess hall"
in 11 reviews
"military history"
in 8 reviews
"gun emplacements"
in 7 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 6 reviews
"guided tour"
in 12 reviews
"scapa flow"
in 14 reviews
"country village"
in 2 reviews
"tour starts"
in 2 reviews
"rural life"
in 2 reviews
"winter nights"
in 2 reviews
"future generations"
in 3 reviews
"informative guide"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"visiting orkney"
in 2 reviews
"andy"
in 16 reviews
"ww2"
in 10 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Visited Ness Battery earlier this year and found it very enjoyable with a guide who not only new about the Battery was also very knowledgeable about the surround area.

Well worth the visit.

Paul Gander

Thank PFG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Ness Battery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks for the review, Paul. Glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you there again one day. Cheers, Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

A great tour, you have to book this but only a quick call can get you on it.
All about the 2 world wars and the way that it was defended.
A lot of old concrete bunkers and defences to see although no guns etc
The guide new all his stuff and with the help of his giant book of photographs explained everything really well. Lasts about an hour

1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Ness Battery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks Andrew, much appreciated.
Glad you enjoyed the tour!
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

As my husband enjoys military history we thought this would be an interesting afternoon and weren't disappointed.

Andy, the guide, had lots of information & photos which helped show how the site had looked during the 2 world wars. I am not knowledgeable in the military but the tour was aimed at level that I understood & could relate to. The mess hall & the mural were fantastic & the mystery that goes with it was interesting to hear about.

To also hear that the majority of the restoration has been carried out by Andy made me realise how important it is to have funding available to ensure sites like this are not lost to future generations.

I thought it was well worth the £6 admission.

1  Thank allyt001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Manager at Ness Battery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks, glad to hear you enjoyed the tour. I do try and pitch it for everyone's interest, not just the military buffs, as you point out.
But I can't take credit for all the restoration work. That was mostly done by the Scapa Flow Landscape Partnership Scheme, funded by Orkney Islands Council, Heritage Lottery Fund among others.
I'm repainting the huts though, and do most of the grass cutting.
All the best
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

You see this if you arrive in Stromness by ferry. It is bare and stark and makes me think of the people who had to man it on dark winter nights to protect our country

1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ness Battery also viewed

Stromness, Mainland
Stromness, Mainland
 
Stromness, Mainland
 

Been to Ness Battery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing