We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$103
Hotels.comUS$103
eDreamsUS$99
Agoda.comUS$99
TravelocityUS$103
Orbitz.comUS$103
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveller rating
650
255
81
52
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
650
255
81
52
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch earn dog owners dining room public areas the main hotel first class short break stunning location smoked salmon relaxing break night break chalet bistro beatles walks scotland susan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2021

We were looking forward to staying at this iconic hotel and revisiting the area which we went to as children.
Unfortunately we hit a spell of typical wet August Scottish weather and the hotel had turned its heating off for the summer. The main areas were very cool although a portable heater was supplied to heat up the bedroom. However, the heated towel rail in the bathroom was turned off so cold towels which didnt dry and very cold feet - hot water took 5 minutes of running tap to arrive- not very eco friendly.
Bed was comfortable , plenty of storage but no luxuries apart from the view!!
Staff weren't allowed in room but no extra provisions based on length of stay.

Room tip: All rooms have a loch view which is a must
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R5550KKchristinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Stuart, Owner at The Four Seasons, Hotel & Little Larder, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

Us hardy Scots tend not to feel the cold as much as others so it is useful to know that you were starting to feel a chill, thank you. This is the first comment of this nature this year and is a barometer check on when we need to reinstate our heating - always useful to know.

The need for us to run water is one of my irritations too, however it is offset by the fact that we have a wonderfully green biomass boiler heating system. The need to run taps is simply to get the hot water from one end of the building to the other and which also heats the towel rails.

At the onset of C19, we conducted a risk assessment and made a decision to take many of our luxury items out of circulation in both bedrooms and public spaces. We also decided to not service rooms during stays as this is one of the higher level risks areas to staff.

We do put extra amenities in rooms that are longer stays, however it is a judgement call as to what constitutes a longer stay (2 nights or 5 nights?) and we are always happy to provide extra stocks for any of our guests.

Please be assured that we make policy decisions based on an objective evaluation of our position, the need and the resources available and not on whims.

Kind regards, Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2021

Superb location at the south end of Loch Earn. But be aware this hotel does not provide value for money, fixtures and fittings in the bathroom are old, although clean. Towels are well worn and wrinkled at the cuff, toiletries are of the lowest grade. The hotel smelt of 'dog' as it is a pet friendly hotel. Several packaged item provided at breakfast were considerably out of date....I could go on!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Inspiration302059
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Stuart, Owner at The Four Seasons, Hotel & Little Larder, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

For others who are reading this, I would like to correct our location as we are on the north side of Loch Earn (it runs east/west) and at the east end of the loch, but at the west end of St Fillans.

We are a 3* hotel and do not pretend to be anything else and yes many of our bathroom fittings are vintage or retro. Our guests generally feedback that they like the oversize baths, a facility that is hard to come by these days. You were accommodated in our pet free wing, an area of the hotel that has not had dogs in it for several years and caters specifically for those who do not like pets (we have cats in at the moment as well as dogs) or are allergic to pets. I was so glad to hear that our housekeeping staff are doing a good job!

You have mentioned wrinkled towels which is an issue that has just come to light and is a result of understanding settings on new laundry equipment. This is being resolved. With regards to toiletries, the majority of our guests seem to prefer to use their own favoured brand and so we have made a decision not to invest in an expensive item that the majority of our guests do not use and which adds unnecessary costs to all.

Finally with regards to out of date food, I would refer all to the food standards agency and the importance of food waste regarding the difference between use by dates and best before dates. Use by dates are about safety and are used on fresh food, best before by dates are found on dry and processed foods and relate to quality. The majority of dry and processed food items are fit for consumption long past the BB date when stored correctly.

Kind regards, Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

This is a fabulous place to stay for a few days especially if you are a dog owner. Located on the shores of the Loch Earn with lovely walking on the old railway line at the back of the hotel. The staff were very busy but always on hand to help, the food was good in the restaurant both at breakfast and evening times. We had a lovely room over looking the Loch which was plenty big enough for us and a Labradoodle. Well worth a visit for all dog owners who wish to take their dog on holiday with them.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rippard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Stuart, Owner at The Four Seasons, Hotel & Little Larder, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

So glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Four Seasons and we'll look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021

We ate here once so my review is based only on that occasion. The lochside view is spectacular but our enjoyment was spoiled by a noisy family with screaming baby eating in the same room at nearly 9 p.m. when we would have expected no children to be eating a family supper. Why on earth couldn't the family have been accommodated in the other dining room which was empty so that we could enjoy our meal in peace? We are grandparents so understand the situation but have come away to avoid this sort of mealtime rumpus.
The Waggya burger was overpriced at £18. This is a modest hotel and despite its glorious position should not charge overinflated prices for what was very ordinary food. We were not staying there so no comment on the hotel stay itself.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bogdana52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Stuart, Owner at The Four Seasons, Hotel & Little Larder, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent visit.

We have chosen to make the hotel more inclusive and accessible and thus equally welcome younger and older guests. You may have been familiar with the Tarken in the past but this is closed to assist with our management of C19 protocols so would have been totally inappropriate to accommodate guests.

The Highland Wagyu burger, sourced direct from the farm outside Dunblane, is a premium burger and it is disappointing that you did not consider it worth the premium price that it commands, particularly as Wagyu beef is considered some of the best in the world.

The impact of C19 has been felt globally and it is important to understand that the price of products is increasing and this is something we are all going to have to live with.

Kind regards, Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and dined in both evenings. Lovely large room overlooking Loch Earn. Delicious breakfasts with plenty of choice. New staff very obliging and helpful. Evening meal well prepared and presented. Bar well stocked, Staff adhered well to social distancing. Owner also very helpful. We will definitely return ( in fact we've already booked!).

Room tip: Has nothing to do with the Nursing Home company!
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Stuart, Owner at The Four Seasons, Hotel & Little Larder, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Neil we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and are looking forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews