We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be having Christmas dinner here again this year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Will be having Christmas dinner here again this year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went to the gourmet restaurant and only have good things to say ....mostly. On arrival the car park was very full and no one on hand to direct. Inside it took us a while to find where we were going and then had to sit in the bar for the table to be ready. The food however more than made up for it...if a little cool. Took a while for my granddaughter's meal to arrive but that was the only real concern. The mince pies were to die for at the end but we were too stuffed to do them justice, thanks goodness for mums wee plastic bag.....we took em home. Will definitely go again next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junieclooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    300
    184
    95
    89
See reviews for
197
220
40
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights over the Christmas period on a very reasonable rate that included breakfast and use of Leisure suite.

Whilst there are many constraints that become easy targets for criticism, I would prefer to focus on the positives given the cost/return factor.

The leisure facility is a star performer, very well run, and offering a great pool, gymnasium (commensurate to the size of the hotel), sauna, steam and poolside loungers with drinks facility. It was great to unwind for2 or 3 hours before retiring to the Restaurant for dinner.

Although our room was pretty bland, ie a few pictures on the wall or curtains rather than blinds, it was sizable, nicely warmed given the outside weather, with a good size TV and bed with firm mattress. Previous reviewers complained about the bed, I guess it’s fairly subjective whether it’s to your liking or not.

The architecture of the hotel is one of breadth rather than height. Consequently, the single lift services only part of the hotel and the journey to the remaining extremities can be challenging to the extent that there will be stairs to negotiate with (for us) some heavy lifting required. I could accept for a 3 star hotel on the rate we were charged.

It’s not an easy operating environment, but if the management did have the capital to invest, they could improve guest navigation/accessibility between hotel key features.

On the Restaurant front, the breakfast & dinner meals were of good quality, not gourmet standard, but enjoyable and equally as good as other hotels I’ve stayed at within the West of Scotland. Make sure you try the Haggis slice for breakfast, a great addition to the bacon & egg line-up!

Customer service in the Restaurant and Reception were a mixed bag, some vey helpful, others going through the motions and forgetting the primary function to serve guests. From our own observations and those of others on TA, I sense there is a Management motivational issue to deal with.

Staff need to be coached on objectives, understand how the Events Packages are implemented (eg Dip & Dine), and to be incentivised toward customer focus. Given the level of criticism levelled in previous reviews I can’t understand why Management do not providing a more robust response on TA.

All in all, a good option provided you pay the right price for your stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed two nights and had two dinners. About a ten minute drive from the Glasgow airport. They offer shuttle service only from the hotel to the airport, but not the other way around. Get ready for an unhappy taxi driver, who will not appreciate the short ride and low fare.

This is a quaint, older and acceptable mid-level hotel. Stayed in what appeared to be the new section of the hotel. The room was modern and inviting. I walked through the older section and it did not look nearly as nice.

One reason I stayed here was the availability of a fitness center. It turned out to be a small room frequented by quite a few locals when it first opens in the morning at 7 AM, so it was fairly crowded. It was not a great fitness center, but it did have a selection of cardio machines and a limited weights section. It worked, but just barely. There are not fitness centers in many Glasgow hotels; Mar Hall has a good one and the Crowne Plaza is ok. None of them open until 7 AM, however, which is a bit late.

Had dinner one night in the restaurant. It was buffet style and very ordinary, but plentiful. Dinner in the pub the next night was better. Breakfast was a buffet...unremarkable but adequate.

I will stay at this hotel again due to its proximity to the airport, the fitness center, and it's quaint feel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyO1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

My wife booked our Christmas dinner as a treat for all the family and it cost £50 per head. When we arrived, the car park was bursting and looking through the windows we saw lots of family's sitting in the resturant having dinner. A good first impression.

On entering the establishment, we were met with a manager arguing with a waiter, who then did not give us a very warm welcome and treated us as an inconvenience. The Manager said "just push your way into the resturant and drive over peoples feet if you have to". No-one showed us to our table and we had to walk a fair distance (with our buggy) to get to our seat, which was down two sets of stairs. We were close up to the leisure club and could smell the chlorine.

It seemed to us that there was general chaos. There was a badly typed menu just lying on our table. The bread rolls were lying loose in a shop bag next to our tables. Definately not made by hand and cooked by the chef! Also, no butter for our bread.

The carvery looked like mass produced hospital food, of a real poor quality. The food was like what you would have got from an Iceland store or better still, Farmfoods! We were all really thirsty after our meal and I would say that our food had plenty of salt added to it to make you buy drink!

On the subject of drink, we noticed 2 people complaining about extra drinks that had been wrongly added to their bills.

The presentation of the cooks were dirty and unorganised.

The sweets were all bashed and looked as though they had come from Iceland. The cheese was packet stuff with no real thought as to the presentation.

The general condition of the hotel was poor and looked as if it was very dilapidated. The toilets were awful.

Most of the management were in badly fitting suits and looked un-clean. They ran about the place like headless chickens. The worrying thing is that I bet you they think they have a well run hotel, which provides excellent service and food.

Needless to say, we will never be going back to the Glynhill Hotel as it was an awful experience and not worth the £50 per head we spent i.e. £250 in total.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Lovely spacious rooms, fantastic calvary and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.8 km away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1.7 km away
Courtyard Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 169 Paisley Road, Renfrew PA4 8XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price range (per night): $137 - $241
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This commended 145-bedroom hotel is ideally located only 1 mile from Glasgow International Airport (not in flight path), 5 minutes from Braehead Arena & Shopping Centre, Xscape Leisure Park and 10 minutes from Glasgow city centre. The hotel now boasts 97 rooms of the modern, contemporary club style. A new guest lift has been installed to service 3 floors of bedrooms; facilities also include 3 bars, Carverie, Bistro and Gourmet restaurants with weekend entertainment and an exclusive leisure club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glynhill Hotel And Leisure Club
The Glynhill Hotel Leisure
Glynhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing