We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Nearby Hotels
US$41
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead(Renfrew)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Glasgow Braehead(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ardgowan House(Paisley)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$83
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Courtyard by Marriott Glasgow Airport(Paisley)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Glasgow Airport(Paisley)(Great Value!)
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$166
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,095 results
Traveller rating
330
352
208
102
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
352
208
102
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstribute nightharry's barcarvery restaurantleisure facilitiesglasgow airportcourse mealbuffet styledance floorgreat nighthen nightwedding receptionfamily roomfood was lovelygreat value for moneystayed here for one nightan overnight stayclose to the airport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
952 - 957 of 1,095 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights over the Christmas period on a very reasonable rate that included breakfast and use of Leisure suite.

Whilst there are many constraints that become easy targets for criticism, I would prefer to focus on the positives given the cost/return factor.

The leisure facility is a star performer, very well run, and offering a great pool, gymnasium (commensurate to the size of the hotel), sauna, steam and poolside loungers with drinks facility. It was great to unwind for2 or 3 hours before retiring to the Restaurant for dinner.

Although our room was pretty bland, ie a few pictures on the wall or curtains rather than blinds, it was sizable, nicely warmed given the outside weather, with a good size TV and bed with firm mattress. Previous reviewers complained about the bed, I guess it’s fairly subjective whether it’s to your liking or not.

The architecture of the hotel is one of breadth rather than height. Consequently, the single lift services only part of the hotel and the journey to the remaining extremities can be challenging to the extent that there will be stairs to negotiate with (for us) some heavy lifting required. I could accept for a 3 star hotel on the rate we were charged.

It’s not an easy operating environment, but if the management did have the capital to invest, they could improve guest navigation/accessibility between hotel key features.

On the Restaurant front, the breakfast & dinner meals were of good quality, not gourmet standard, but enjoyable and equally as good as other hotels I’ve stayed at within the West of Scotland. Make sure you try the Haggis slice for breakfast, a great addition to the bacon & egg line-up!

Customer service in the Restaurant and Reception were a mixed bag, some vey helpful, others going through the motions and forgetting the primary function to serve guests. From our own observations and those of others on TA, I sense there is a Management motivational issue to deal with.

Staff need to be coached on objectives, understand how the Events Packages are implemented (eg Dip & Dine), and to be incentivised toward customer focus. Given the level of criticism levelled in previous reviews I can’t understand why Management do not providing a more robust response on TA.

All in all, a good option provided you pay the right price for your stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMcUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed two nights and had two dinners. About a ten minute drive from the Glasgow airport. They offer shuttle service only from the hotel to the airport, but not the other way around. Get ready for an unhappy taxi driver, who will not appreciate the short ride and low fare.

This is a quaint, older and acceptable mid-level hotel. Stayed in what appeared to be the new section of the hotel. The room was modern and inviting. I walked through the older section and it did not look nearly as nice.

One reason I stayed here was the availability of a fitness center. It turned out to be a small room frequented by quite a few locals when it first opens in the morning at 7 AM, so it was fairly crowded. It was not a great fitness center, but it did have a selection of cardio machines and a limited weights section. It worked, but just barely. There are not fitness centers in many Glasgow hotels; Mar Hall has a good one and the Crowne Plaza is ok. None of them open until 7 AM, however, which is a bit late.

Had dinner one night in the restaurant. It was buffet style and very ordinary, but plentiful. Dinner in the pub the next night was better. Breakfast was a buffet...unremarkable but adequate.

I will stay at this hotel again due to its proximity to the airport, the fitness center, and it's quaint feel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeyO1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My wife booked our Christmas dinner as a treat for all the family and it cost £50 per head. When we arrived, the car park was bursting and looking through the windows we saw lots of family's sitting in the resturant having dinner. A good first impression.

On entering the establishment, we were met with a manager arguing with a waiter, who then did not give us a very warm welcome and treated us as an inconvenience. The Manager said "just push your way into the resturant and drive over peoples feet if you have to". No-one showed us to our table and we had to walk a fair distance (with our buggy) to get to our seat, which was down two sets of stairs. We were close up to the leisure club and could smell the chlorine.

It seemed to us that there was general chaos. There was a badly typed menu just lying on our table. The bread rolls were lying loose in a shop bag next to our tables. Definately not made by hand and cooked by the chef! Also, no butter for our bread.

The carvery looked like mass produced hospital food, of a real poor quality. The food was like what you would have got from an Iceland store or better still, Farmfoods! We were all really thirsty after our meal and I would say that our food had plenty of salt added to it to make you buy drink!

On the subject of drink, we noticed 2 people complaining about extra drinks that had been wrongly added to their bills.

The presentation of the cooks were dirty and unorganised.

The sweets were all bashed and looked as though they had come from Iceland. The cheese was packet stuff with no real thought as to the presentation.

The general condition of the hotel was poor and looked as if it was very dilapidated. The toilets were awful.

Most of the management were in badly fitting suits and looked un-clean. They ran about the place like headless chickens. The worrying thing is that I bet you they think they have a well run hotel, which provides excellent service and food.

Needless to say, we will never be going back to the Glynhill Hotel as it was an awful experience and not worth the £50 per head we spent i.e. £250 in total.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Lovely spacious rooms, fantastic calvary and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellamichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Upon arriving in the hotel I was greeted by an extremely warm welcome by a girl named Melissa and a boy who's name I forgot (I'm sorry! But they were both positively charming!). They were very hospitable and very welcoming! I stayed in one of the club rooms, and despite being a bit warm was extremely comfortable. Later that night I went to the bar and enjoyed a lovely meal, the food was excellent and the bar staff were very attentive. Overall the hotel is an excellent place to stay, where the staff bend over backwards to help you.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of hotel as they do not face the main road.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews