We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$707
View deal
Expedia.com
US$712
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/08/21
US$712
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/08/21
Hotels.com
CheapTicketsUS$712
Orbitz.comUS$712
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
264
16
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
264
16
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews putting green attention to detail royal dornoch breakfast hamper taster menu living room fly fishing rooms are beautifully appointed the main house second to none nicest places pre dinner play golf golf course luxury hotel the main dining room salmon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel! Were upgraded from the room we booked to a suite which was lovely. There was a complimentary cocktail waiting for us and some homemade shortbread. Room was lovely and very tastefully decorated. Ate in the Mara restaurant and meal was delicious. I have nothing but positive things to say about this fab hotel and would definitely go back!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LJNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a wonderful two nights at this gem of a hotel. Delightful warm welcome, comfortable and luxurious room and absolutely top notch food served by attentive and helpful staff. Can’t wait for an excuse to return!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ambrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Morrison, Guest Services / Front Office at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has a lovely country house feel and has been decorated tastefully with special touches. All the staff were friendly and super helpful and the food was delicious. We had a very special night there

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 63millah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Morrison, Guest Services / Front Office at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, we loved having you stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are considering the Links House, you should go ahead and book it. Our experience was exactly as the other 5 star reviews describe it: beautiful surroundings, ambiance, proximity to the first tee, incredible food at Mara, dedicated staff, and an endless number of small details that make this place exceptional.

Links House was the perfect antidote to months of lockdown in a big city; the sea air, clear vistas, and quiet evenings helped reset our sleep to the deepest in several months. And although we had to work a few days while staying in the Laxford (I can attest that the wifi can support multiple people on Zoom calls), we were able to easily fit in walks along the beach and time to jump on the trampoline in the playground: little pockets of joy.

Although it's difficult to imagine at the moment, the Links House team is so dedicated and this place is so special that we know our next visit will be even better than the last. We cannot wait to come back.

Room tip: The Laxford apartment has the perfect set-up to close some deals before hitting the tee.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc_trippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Morrison, Guest Services / Front Office at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! We are so happy your enjoyed your stay and we cannot wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A fantastic place to stay in Dornoch, we had an amazing time. The location right next to the first tee of Royal Dornoch, could not be better. High quality rooms, which are beautifully decorated with a very traditional Scottish theme, The staff are a really great team, very helpful and delivering amazing service without being stuffy and overbearing. We dined at Mara on the tasting menu, just fantastic food, using the very best of Scottish ingredients. When the wine we chose was unavailable we were offered a more expensive alternative for no additional cost, superb service. We will return for sure.

Room tip: We booked 48 hour in the Highlands package includes dinner at the Courtroom. Although the food and service was good, it’s not at MARA level
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Franb041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Morrison, Guest Services / Front Office at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - these reviews absolutely make our day! Thank you for coming and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews