We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”

Mara at Links House
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Dornoch
Price range: US$75 - US$75
Description: Opening March 2020 - Mara, our new menu will feature the gifts from Scotland's waters, fields, forests and skies, presented with minimal interruption. An example of the Highland larder being utilised at its finest.
Restaurant details
Description: Opening March 2020 - Mara, our new menu will feature the gifts from Scotland's waters, fields, forests and skies, presented with minimal interruption. An example of the Highland larder being utilised at its finest.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The fine dining restaurant at The Links House Hotel was an evening of relaxed luxury with superb & accomplished cooking with attentive & professional service from a welcoming young team. Equally, the comprehensive wine list was an added bonus. Select from an A’la Carte menu or opt for the tasting menu with accompanying wines that compliment your meal. Overall, we adored this superb restaurant and genuinely appreciated the service from the waiting staff. The Chef & his kitchen team did a wonderful job with our food. A restaurant to watch in future and an establishment that deserves all of it’s accolades to date. Simply superb.

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank Fairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

We visited Links House to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On our arrival staff were both friendly and helpful.
We had the tasting menu and accompanying wines, the meal was fantastic as were the wines. It was a nice for the chef to also come out and speak to us at the end of the night.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Gus738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey64615002745, Agency / Consultant at Mara at Links House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dinner at Mara - we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

Tasting menu is really good and fantastic value. Good ambiance, lovely staff, in a great setting. The non tasting menu had plenty of choices. Cheese board was excellent.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank 913julias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

I have been a couple of times in recent months once for a birthday meal and once for an afternoon tea. Both experiences were fantastic. If you want a treat and somewhere nice to go in the Highlands I can think of nowhere better.

Service is excellent, professional and courteous. Food is amazing.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark_Dornoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

Visited again on New Years Eve for the 3rd time in the last 2 years. The hotel itself its elegant and has a lot of potential. The food served in the restaurant has always been seasonal and well thought out, but there clearly seems to be a change of Chef as the food wasn’t up to scratch nor on flavour and presentation and it left a lot to be desired for the price tag. The bread was stale and the combos of flavours a little dull. A few of the courses didn’t make sense and the execution was poor.
Hopefully this will change as the new Chef has big shoes to fill.

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank jules45355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mara at Links House also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Mara at Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.