We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aiden House(Durness)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
9
18
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
18
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworld wardrying roomcommon roomnight's sleepsmoo caveshutsdormitorysleepingplugsbedsshoweraccommodationlounge
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had 2 nights here after being turned away from the Lazy Crofter who we thought we had a booking with, but basically screwed us over. We were told to 'try the youth hostel' and I am very glad we did. The lady running the centre was very friendly and made us very welcome. The hostel is basic, but has everything you need, and at £10 a night you can't go wrong. We made fiends and bumped into people we had met at Torridan, so it is on the hostel circuit. Go and stay, meet the dogs and have a game if chess, it is a great place that I will be staying in again if I am ever in Durness.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigbaddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hostel is two old army huts in a wonderful location. One is for sleeping and is pretty basic though quiet - we slept well in newish bunks and there was enough space for kit. The other is the communal block and has a rather nice cosy atmosphere with kitchen, dining area and pleasant lounge, with the warden matching the prevailing mood well. The kitchen is ergonomically excellent and puts a lot of posher youth hostels in the shade. I imagine the huts will one day fall down and the hostel will then close which would be a pity. There is sure to be competition from the newer bunkhouse in the village.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GealCarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This youth hostel is situated right on the coast, next to smoo cave, so the location cannot be faulted.

It is a very small youth hostel, consisting of a main building for the reception, kitchen and living room. Then, there is a block of 4 dorms. The dorms are basic and a little bit chilly but very clean.

The showers were clean and seemed to be quite new.

There are some friendly collies to make friends with!

The service was very good but perhaps overall, it's a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiptomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Basic clean hostel. Everyone friendly. A Private room was a mistake and cost me more than a B&B but getting info on B&B's before arriving in Durness is hard to impossible.

Septic tank or whatever overdue for a emptying or cleaning - Whiffy.

Snoo cave is worth a look. Avert your eyes at low tide from the streamers of toilet paper on the pebbles and why do they not get rid of that old tyre?
It was the week of the Durness Challenge but I was able to take the ferry to Cape Wrath (£5.50 return leaving at 11am) and the bus to the lighthouse (£6 single £10 return) and get some walking in.


If anyone from the SYHA reads this why do you not provide WiFi? There must be Broadband there as all bookings are on line and a wireless router would cost next to nothing. I would pay a £1.00 -£1.50 a night to connect my mobile telephone or netbook. It could cost you next to nothing and bring in some income.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclist60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Very good location, clean facilities, normal youth hostel standards. Very good find for the budget traveller, not for people who are looking for luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fraser1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews