We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The Hostel is in a wonderful place in North West Scotland. Allow plenty of time to explore.
The Hostel manager is extremely helpful and very kind.
The Hostel is two huts - one with the sleeping accommodation and the other with kitchen dining and living areas.
It is not one of your newly refurbished Hostels but it is warm and comfortable and an excellent place to stay.

Indoor storage for bicycles

Room Tip: If the hostel is not busy you can pay a bit more and have a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SidBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had 2 nights here after being turned away from the Lazy Crofter who we thought we had a booking with, but basically screwed us over. We were told to 'try the youth hostel' and I am very glad we did. The lady running the centre was very friendly and made us very welcome. The hostel is basic, but has everything you need, and at £10 a night you can't go wrong. We made fiends and bumped into people we had met at Torridan, so it is on the hostel circuit. Go and stay, meet the dogs and have a game if chess, it is a great place that I will be staying in again if I am ever in Durness.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigbaddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hostel is two old army huts in a wonderful location. One is for sleeping and is pretty basic though quiet - we slept well in newish bunks and there was enough space for kit. The other is the communal block and has a rather nice cosy atmosphere with kitchen, dining area and pleasant lounge, with the warden matching the prevailing mood well. The kitchen is ergonomically excellent and puts a lot of posher youth hostels in the shade. I imagine the huts will one day fall down and the hostel will then close which would be a pity. There is sure to be competition from the newer bunkhouse in the village.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GealCarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This youth hostel is situated right on the coast, next to smoo cave, so the location cannot be faulted.

It is a very small youth hostel, consisting of a main building for the reception, kitchen and living room. Then, there is a block of 4 dorms. The dorms are basic and a little bit chilly but very clean.

The showers were clean and seemed to be quite new.

There are some friendly collies to make friends with!

The service was very good but perhaps overall, it's a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiptomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Basic clean hostel. Everyone friendly. A Private room was a mistake and cost me more than a B&B but getting info on B&B's before arriving in Durness is hard to impossible.

Septic tank or whatever overdue for a emptying or cleaning - Whiffy.

Snoo cave is worth a look. Avert your eyes at low tide from the streamers of toilet paper on the pebbles and why do they not get rid of that old tyre?
It was the week of the Durness Challenge but I was able to take the ferry to Cape Wrath (£5.50 return leaving at 11am) and the bus to the lighthouse (£6 single £10 return) and get some walking in.


If anyone from the SYHA reads this why do you not provide WiFi? There must be Broadband there as all bookings are on line and a wireless router would cost next to nothing. I would pay a £1.00 -£1.50 a night to connect my mobile telephone or netbook. It could cost you next to nothing and bring in some income.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclist60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
0 km away
Achmelvich Beach Youth Hostel
0 km away
Torridon Youth Hostel
Torridon Youth Hostel
#1 of 2 in Torridon
74 reviews
0 km away
Glenbrittle Youth Hostel
Glenbrittle Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Glenbrittle
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durness Smoo Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durness Smoo Youth Hostel

Address: Durness IV27 4QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Durness
Price Range: $82 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Durness Smoo Youth Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel is surrounded by wild and spectacular landscape. There are mountains, sea cliffs, beaches and waterfalls. On a clear night the starry skies are incredible, made even better if you are fortunate enough to see the Northern Lights. Durness provides a refuge from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and John Lennon himself holidayed here for many years. Our Durness Smoo Youth Hostel is relaxed and friendly and provides a simple base in which to explore the area on a budget. There are both multi-shared and private rooms, a well-equipped self-catering kitchen, drying room and cosy lounge which is heated by a coal-burning stove. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Durness Smoo Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing